🐎 A big calf roping competition came to town last weekend 🐮 I'm still recovering 🍻 Teams from all over Panama were here 😎

in #panama-blog6 years ago

🐎 I've been waiting to do a Blog about Panama Lasso competitions and last weekend I got my chance to swing by and take some pictures. Right in my Home Town, the only problem was I just spent 2 days drinking with a Canadian buddy at his house.

So I get home and hear the event taking place with loud music and the announcer talking continually. Already too drunk to have much sense left in me, took both the dogs and walked on over to cover the event and drink some more beer.

Lasso Competitions are big events in Panama, there are roping rings just about everywhere for events and practice. And they do practice almost daily in some places. Teams of 4 men compete against other teams for pride in their horsemanship plus there must be other prizes I'm not aware of.

Amazingly it's one of the few events where the men don't drink! they ride bull's drunk but are so serious about the roping they stay sober, And the whole family comes along. The spectators are another story ( Like me ) drink like fishes in the hot sun, we have no horses to fall off of. LOL

These horses are so well cared for it's amazing, and so well behaved even little kids can ride them

girl on horse.jpg

Most of these men are real Cowboys, riding the range looking after their herds and being a good roper is a tool of the trade. These Horses can be valued at 10's of thousands of dollars and are probably not used for work. More like a Ferrari parked in the garage for special events.

How they keep them in such muscular condition is beyond me, Must be lots of practice and exercize with a supreme diet.

3 cowboys.jpg

Above is 1 team waiting their turn to enter the ring, Just look at those rippling muscles on the horses.

Here is calf fresh out of the gate, the Cowboy in hot pursuit

out of gate.jpg

100's of riders have multiple tries over the long weekend so this happens pretty much every minute, a real production line. This isn't like American roping where the Cowboy dismounts once roped and ties 3 legs together on the calf, but they are gauged on time to rope the calf and the control afterward as they take it down the field.

Here is good shot of the calf just about roped and look at the brakes on that horse, great control and once stopped taken down the field to a certain point to finish.

just roped.jpg

Panamanians Love their horses and when a horse isn't busy competing Pretty Daughters, Girlfriends and Wives are riding around showing off the western wear for fun too. These events are serious business and like I said very few people are there to get drunk.

This weekend was the Senior men's baseball tournament in a local city So almost all the locals were away there supporting our town's team. A bus leaves at 7 AM and doesn't get back until late. But I must have found a few drinking buddies because I drank till I could hardly walk.

My memory fails on many accounts. Our Dog Cheeta was glued to me the whole time with so many horses running around and Tigra her puppy refused to enter the grounds but was happy running around the bar and restaurant area eating scraps. That was the only horse free area. really dumb in hindsight bringing the dogs.

Johana was away thankgoodness because the walk home was a challenge and I only remember falling on my face once which split my lip, scratched my chin and chest. Must have been a few more tumbles judging by other damage on my old body. ( what an old fool, LOL ) But she had a great laugh at inspecting my injuries when she got home on Monday. And asking questions I had no answers to.

Tigra took advantage of my condition and slept beside the bed with me. not sure what she got into but slept late so I got a picture.

tigra.jpg

They say know your limit and live within it, I missed the mark this round.


Thanks for reading and supporting my blog, I 💗 Comments...
My Signature Post ---> [Hop on My Love Train ( with music )](https://steemit.com/signature/@codypanama/signature-reference-

post-only-might-work-for-you-too)

Life is Good @ steemit.com 💗

Sort:  

Looks like a good time. Your Dog passed out makes me think of anytime we bring our dog out to events. He is so on edge the whole time keeping guard and watching everything that when we get home he passes out hard.

she normally gets some off leash time every night, but this was hours of constant running around. and probably mentally exhausted too with all that activity going on.

We inherited a Golden Doodle when my Grandparents had to go into a nursing home. While I'm not a designer dog type of guy (last dog came from the pound), he really is an amazing dog. I can let him off leash anytime I wanted and know he wouldn't cause trouble. But as a 90 pound dog he scares a lot of people so he tends to be on leash most of the time for walks or when we are out. At home he get to run around in the yard whenever he wants. We aren't fenced, but even when someone walks by up front he stops on a dime when he is told no.

Thanks for your nice post, your post has resteem and voted.
Best Regards
With Respect From Indonesia

@azmielbanjary

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33