The Winds of Change

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

My son, Ben, and me just returned from the local sub shop a couple miles away. We sat and ate a quick meal and drank some watery soda. It will be the last we share out for a long time.

Ben's been staying here working for the past few years after returning home from six month's working in Fort Myers, Florida.

Labor jobs in this area pay shitty and treat employees worse. He tried a few employers here and finally put his notice in and made plans to leave last month. Ben is packing his few belongings to move back with the same friend he stayed with before. The young men were born the same day and his friend is the son of my best friend in Canada. Her son, Drew, is like a son to me.

I am facing separation anxiety again and once more will need to adjust to the Empty Nest.

Even Jeff is sad to see him leaving as Ben is a great person and responsible, too, so Jeff made sure to let him know he's always got a place here if it doesn't work out in Fort Myers, Florida.

I'm feeling melancholy just imagining life without this great conversationalist. I know Ben is wasting his talents here in Northwestern, Pennsylvania and I know he needs this opportunity for growth and independence.

We pulled back in to the driveway after returning from the sub shop and were hit the smell of gas. Immediately he begins worrying about his car since he and his friend are driving back to Florida in his car for a 16 hour road trip.

I really hope there is no issue with his VW Jetta. He keeps it maintained exceptionally well having worked at a local dealership for years prior to leaving as their lead car detailer. It's a 2016 Jetta and in beautiful shape. Ben has just a few more months left on his car loan to have the total all paid off. I am praying for their safe trip back to Florida.

I'll be an official Empty Nester again with one child living an hour away and the other who has left the state and refuses to talk to me or even tell me where she and two of my grandchildren and her wife are staying.

Change is difficult and kids all need to grow up and move forward with their own lives. I pray for them all and I'm glad my middle son, Bill, and my two grandsons and his wife live nearby.

I pray for the future for all my children as I look to our future knowing good things still are to come. Jeff and I will marry in the coming future and I hope travel is in my future soon to visit my son. The earliest is some time in 2020.

Enjoy your family while they are near because family such a gift.

Photo from our get together last night with my best friend and all her family. Ben, Me and Bill

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt gas leak
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

God Bless you and them <3 No matter how much we want to, we cannot stop time, nor keep our children close to home if they choose to travel out. On the brighter side, you will have a place to travel to, when you decide it's time :D

Thank you for reading @tamaralovelace and thank you for the blessings. Hugs! Yes, it's a new vacation spot for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry you'll be missing your son, but glad he'll be doing what's right for him.

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too, @improv ❤ Thanks for stopping in. It's good he has a place to move to and help getting on his feet. He may even be working at the same company as his friend if all goes well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Four of our five boys live in our town - one even in our house! He's 'between jobs' so he and his wife, our (only) grandchild (a girl) and their dog moved in until he can get back on his feet. Since my mother-in-law moved in with us last spring (so we can help with her health issues), we have four generations under our roof!

Our fifth son has a job that lets him work wherever there's an internet connection, so he's been roaming around the country (though we still get his mail!).

Cheers!

I love having the kids around and it's awesome yours can come home as needed, too. This is not the world we grew up in! Thanks for reading. Followed you. @jdkennedy. Have a great weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your sons are huge!! And look like they are really nice people. I hope the drive will go well and that he will find a great career in Florida. At least it will be warmer.

Big hugs to you. It is weird when everyone is gone - but kind of nice as well :)

They are big boys. Ben is 6'3! Bill is 5' 11. The last time he left was winter and that was challenging. I was all alone in the winter here and what a chore that is with a long driveway and this snow! He returned in May of the next year. This year will be easier as I am not totally alone here. Thanks for the kind words @mariannewest 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Looking beautiful sweetie. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50