The Truly Wealthy

in #palnet5 years ago

There is no greater poverty than to be a person poor in spirit. You may be very wealthy in earthly goods but if you are filled with contempt for others and look down on people because they are poor or less fortunate than you, your spirit will be small and your circle be filled with people who are fake and don't truly care about you.

Life will deal with you as it will and there are so many other things that will prove rewarding apart from money and possessions if you are good at heart and try to lift up those less fortunate than yourself.

Generosity breeds friends and selfishness resentment. Love is not purchased, but need is. Many confuse the pursuit of wealth for happiness and a better life but true happiness comes from thinking on the needs of others and sacrifice.

Strive to work and provide for yourself and loved ones, but don't think that life will be best with buying all this world's goods. Many wealthy people before us believed that happiness is a byproduct of money or success, only to find the hollow victory left them alone and joy had eluded them.

Before purchasing that next item ask yourself, do I need it or do I want it? Do I think __________ item that will make me happy or am I substituting this purchase to cover up for an emotional need?

In real life, we need few material things to be comfortable. Things can help or hinder. I find I am seldom tempted to spend money the older I get preferring to use that money to create as many experiences as my time on Earth allows.

For me, time is the most valuable commodity and investment in spirit my goal.

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt poverty
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I, too, find myself buying less as I get older. Although I have basically been a thrifty person all my life, I have certainly bought things now and then that I thought I really needed, only to find them just collecting dust a few months later. It's much better to use one's money to help others.

I have learned the same lesson @scribblingramma. I look around at my stuff and think "who can I give this to?"

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a wonderful meditation that resonates deeply. Thanks

Thanks for reading, @mariannewest. That post flew as it came. I guess I feel passionate enough about the topic considering my brain was mush lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Spot on!!
I am there too
I want experience more than material
Someday all this that I know will end so I have to make the most of it

Thank you for sharing this 💗

I really feel that simple living is easier than people in the states can understand. Social media and television and radio push luxury and people think they need to have new cars new clothes and the best electronics and get themselves into incredible debt. Raising my children I struggled as a single mom to get along and took out a credit card to help along the way while I went to college and work full time. I'm happy to say that next month I pay off a big credit card that has been frozen for years that I have been paying on month by month. It did get me through the times that I needed to but it certainly cause a strain on my finances back in those days. I am grateful but somehow I made it through but my father did tell me when I was younger not to get myself in debt! I should have listened. @kaerpediem. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it is world over
We are sold the dream to be successful is to have lots of money
We are always chasing, bigger, faster, better, richer .....

But lately definitely feeling like I can do without so much

Do you know I have never owned a credit card.
I didn't want the temptation, though it was a problem when I needed to book hotels or flights online.

So happy for you that you will settle off debts.
What a relief.
Congratulations due for next month ;D

You're a wise woman and I so agree. I'm content with little and just my circle and good health is sufficient for happiness. @kaerpediem. Thanks for the congratulations! It's such a sweet accomplishment. School loans are still there but that is what it is.

Posted using Partiko Android

Me, too, find I buy less as I get older and really who wants to take care of it all?! ;) The bigger the house the more cleaning, you know what I mean. My neighbors got rid of their car (not sure I'm up for that yet), but they don't need a gym pass, auto insurance, tires or oil changes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97