The Story Behind the Cover Photo

in #palnet5 years ago

I had to go back to check out my cover photo on Steemit because I forgot what I put there. When they became all the rage I had to figure out how to size a photo for the space that was allowed. The photo that is on steemit.com is a photo I took a few years ago while kayaking. It is a picture of lily pads taken on Conneaut Lake. The guy I was dating at that time was a huge kayak fan and he borrowed a kayak for me from his brother so I could go with him.

I was around age 54 at the time and I was thrilled to be able to go kayaking for the very first time.

I love getting out on the water, and into nature and passing slowly, listening to water from my ears swooshing across the lake.

The exercise was harder on my arms than I anticipated that it would be. I was muscle sore for a couple of days, a good kind of sore, so the ache didn't impede my desire to try kayaking again.

Jeff and I have talked about purchasing kayaks because we live so close to Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, but we are so busy that it's just not something that we placed on the top of our priority list.

Kayaks are expensive and so is flying. We've opted to do as much flying as we can and airplane fuel runs around $5.00 a gallon.

The lily pads on the water of the canal that I kayaked years ago we're breathtakingly beautiful. Their bright lemon blossoms sit alone on the water amongst the vibrant green lilypads.I never knew how huge lilypads are!

Parteko does not seem to allow for a cover photo, or I just have never figured out how to put one here.

Cover photos usually represent some sort of personal meaning. My cover photo is no exception.

Two turtles hanging out on the lake

The freewrite prompt made me go search my Google photo albums for a photos from my kayak trips. They doesn't do the scenes justice!

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt cover photo.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

When we revisit beautiful memories... I believe it brings us pleasure ☺️

In other really unrelated but necessary news... You look nothing like fifty plus. I am shook. 🌺💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree @tezmel. Dwelling on good memories makes me smile. Thank you for the compliment ❤🤗.

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

It sounds like you had a fun trip then - and what a wise decision to wait with the kayak until you are not so busy.

It was so peaceful, @mariannewest! Maybe one day.... or maybe we will just rent them ❤

@wandrnrose I love the way you took the picture of the water lilies.

Thank you @myjob. You are challenged taking the phone in a water proof case in a kayak, but it did give a good angle!

Posted using Partiko Android

I went kayaking once too, @wandrnrose7. This was in a cypress swamp in South Florida. It was so hot and so hard, that I do not think I could do it again. But it sure was peaceful and pretty. I hope you get your chance.

Here is your next prompt for today:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-717-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-white-collar

Thank you @fitinfun! I don't know if I'd have enjoyed it so much if it were a stifling swamp. Thanks for the prompt.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58167.25
ETH 2358.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36