Streams of Consciousness

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

I spent hours running from you. my muscles would knot and scream in outrage, but I would continue running.

I could hear my heartbeat pounding in my ears. I could smell my sweat, musky and demanding. I didn't dare slow down. They were watching me. I felt them in the evenings while watching television. I felt eyes on me when I crawled out of bed, bleary eyed, to climb into a hot shower.

Sometimes I even thought I heard footsteps on the stairs. I would stop and listen for long minutes, but silence would greet me.

I don't know if they are still watching. I am not afraid of being watched, really, I'm not.

I don't waste a lot of time dressing in the morning or even putting on makeup. Perhaps that sets me apart from some girls my age. I believe in being simple. I am not the sum total of my outward appearance. How refreshing that feels after decades believing the package was important, more so than I could believe possible.

The value of me was hidden under layer upon layer of masks. Carefully crafted masks which helped me subtly make it through life.. until now.

I wasn't missing anything. I knew I had checked everything and stepped out feeling sure of my feelings.

The best thing you can do is get up and take the first steps. Your feet will teach you how to walk.

The magic of trying lends to it a hope that you will succeed. That is all we need to keep waking up. Don't believe for a second I know how I escaped. The past blurs with its passing, but not every one gets out.

This was my experimental writing on Tomato Typewriter.
I was looking for a typewriter app and came across this. You can set it that it will start taking one word away from your document at a time if you hesitate in writing or even you can choose to have the app wipe the whole document if you hesitate too long. I'm a wimp, so I chose for the app to begin the stealing of one word at a time. I lost no words. I set my session for three 5 minute writing spurts and with a timed pause in between each 5 minute set. Try it out!

Image from Google Play App Store

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt Weekend Single Prompt Option-Scream.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You have used the Hashtag #[CC] and can now reward 40.0 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30