Sightings

in #palnet5 years ago

Since you've left I've had several sightings of you; just brief glimpses before you disappeared. I called your name each time but you never even turned around.

Perhaps you were running? Running from me, or maybe running from yourself.

I know you don't want me to chase you. Temptation was strong to follow you, but where you went wasn't where I could go.

The hardest thing I ever did was to wait for you and one day I stopped looking. Then and only then did I find you.

I can wait as long as you need. I'll wait. I can wait. But now I realize it was never you that I was looking for.

Photo taken on my Galaxy Samsung Note 8 smartphone this afternoon flying home from Ontario, Canada

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt several sightings
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Your ability to make micro relatable fiction impresses me all the time. This is a good piece :)

Hugs! Thank you @tezmel

Posted using Partiko Android

I am there. But this time I found Me and I'm happy

Posted using Partiko Android

Power to you ♡

Me too! @isgledsyduarte! Thank you for reading.

Posted using Partiko Android

This isn't just an essay or freewrite; it's a poem, it's so concise and high impact! In a good way, it reminds me of St. Augustine's "Late Have I Loved You," with a surprise twist.

“Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new, late have I loved you!
You were within me, but I was outside, and it was there that I searched for you.
In my unloveliness I plunged into the lovely things which you created.
You were with me, but I was not with you. Created things kept me from you;
yet if they had not been in you they would have not been at all.
You called, you shouted, and you broke through my deafness.
You flashed, you shone, and you dispelled my blindness.
You breathed your fragrance on me; I drew in breath and now I pant for you.
I have tasted you, now I hunger and thirst for more.
You touched me, and I burned for your peace.”

― Saint Augustine of Hippo

Thank you for your thoughts. As it came out, I wondered if it was poetry or fiction or a conglomeration of both so thank you for confirming that it is indeed poetry. I also appreciate you very much for sharing that pound. "Late Have I Loved You," is beautiful! I can only hope one day to write something of that caliber by to even be compared in the same plane as very humbling! @carolkean ❤🤗

You're most welcome, and you're well on the way to writing like that, or I wouldn't have thought of St. Augustine. So, there. No underestimating yourself!

You're such an encouragement to me @carolkean and I'm guilty as charged 🤗.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you@groovepriest. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I certainly identify with your writing, as you have the memories of the loved one who left. Thanks for sharing. I wish you a happy and productive week.

Thank you, my friend. @felixgarciap. I wish you the same. I am happy this piece resonates with you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

It used to be that

I can wait as long as you need. I'll wait.

but now I added a "t" to an "I" and it changed everything

IT can wait as long as you need. IT'll wait.

)))

Very nice freewrite, I liked it. It leaves one wanting to know what she/he found while waiting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87