Plum Cobbler

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Dan the Cobbler banged on the sole of the worn work boot at his work bench. Bang! BANG!
He stopped to examine the boot closely. Wiping it with a soft oiled cloth until the leather glowed, he set it carefully next to its mate. As he reached for another pair of broken shoes, the doorbell chimed cheerily. Taking up the entire doorway of his shop and obstructing the light was a broad woman wielding a basket of....fruit. She shuffled under her burden and made it into the shop heaving the basket onto his bench with a breathy "Ooof!

"Excuse me, Ma'am! This is my work bench!"

"Ye'are the cobbler man, aren't ye?"

"Yes, yes ... but what's a cobbler to do with...that fruit?"

Why I be needin' a pair of shoes, mister!"

"So what does that fruit..."

"PLUMS, they're plums, mister!"

"....what do plums have to do with you wanting shoes?"

She leaned over, panting and pulled her shabby shoes off her feet. Letting out a huge puff of air, she got them off and put them on the bench beside her plum.

"Thems plums are yer payment, mister. It's all I got!"

On Friday she returned for her shoes. Sitting on the bench were her shoes... in a shiny, deep plum shade.

"Why mister your the best plum cobbler ever!!"

(No pun intended!)

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt plum cobbler
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Excellent job with the two meanings for this prompt, @wandrnrose7. You take me to another place with this story. And here is your next prompt for today:

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-661-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-kitchen

I'm glad you enjoyed it! I had a lot of fun writing it @fitinfun. Thank you for the prompt delivery.

Posted using Partiko Android

That was so funny! I love the play on words! But I did wonder at first if she brought the fruit because she thought the cobbler was going to make a cobbler out of it.

Haha I didn't know what she'd do! She just began the story and the freewrite took its course! Thanks @scribblingramma 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, that's what happens!

What a cool twist on the prompt and a great story

Thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA !tip

Thank you for reading and the tip, @Tattoodjay#3239! I'm glad it came to me as I was at a loss. The woman in the story it's kind of character similar to the series The Outlander that I am reading currently on Kindle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Always a pleasure to visit your posts and cool to hear what inspired the character, I think I also like dit as after I was trying to put a bit of furniture together once and was dog tired, the family teased me that I looked like a cobbler when I was trying to put in a nail and still do call me the cobbler lOL

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

🎁 Hi @wandrnrose7! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Crochet Art In Harlem Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Like the story although I do not understand exactly what is meant by "Sitting on the bench were her shoes... in a shiny, deep plum shade.".

I also do not know what a pun is🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty, here is the definition of "pun" from an online dictionary: "a joke exploiting the different possible meanings of a word or the fact that there are words which sound alike but have different meanings." In this story, there is the fruit called a plum and there is a purple color also called plum. I am not sure why the author put the 'b' on the word "plum" in the last sentence, except that "plumb" can also mean "extremely," emphasizing how good a job the cobbler had done. Furthermore, there is such a thing as a "plum cobbler," a dessert made out of plums, which looks like another play on words. I hope this didn't confuse you further! (@wandrnrose can you explain it better?)

I understand the idea although my English is not good enough I think to understand all different meanings of a word.
Thank you very much for explaining. 👍💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the help @scribblingramma lol, I didn't intend to use "plumb" so I edited that typo. @wakeupkitty

Posted using Partiko Android

OK so it is plums everywhere 😀💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79