My Baking Disaster

in #palnet5 years ago

Mom was a strict German and kept the kitchen spotless. She cleaned up immediately after cooking and didn't like anything on her kitchen cupboards, stove or anywhere else.

When I began to develop an interest in cooking around 14, I asked if I could cook. She really didn't want to deal with my messes and discouraged experimentation in her space.

My sweet tooth was my motivation and I loved her Russian Tea balls. She made them with a substitute of dried Taster's Choice coffee crystals if we didn't have walnuts. The cookies were melt-in-your-mouth confections rolled in powdered sugar and my favorites.

One day when my parents left, I pulled out her cookbook and went to work. I could follow a recipe! I mixed the batter carefully and set them to bake.

The cookies came out disappointingly flat as a pancakes and I had no clue what went awry. I had trays of the flattened, oily cookies and I panicked. Rather than throw them out, I ate them all!

You guessed what happened next, my stomach rebelled at these mistakes. I suffered in silence when my parents arrived. There remained no trace in her kitchen because I put everything away and cleaned up meticulously.

I didn't know what mistake I inadvertently made until confessing years later to her what I did. To this she confided that she had modified the butter by half because the Betty Crocker recipe called for too much butter. She knew this but didn't mark the recipe with the alteration.

Later in life we laughed about my experiment, but oh how I wish she had been less fastidious in the kitchen when I was growing up!

SRC

Today's prompt is awry
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join in with @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You ate trays?! Holy cow. Did they taste good, at least? Ha!

LOL ❤ it was unbelievably rich! @Omar-sky. Thanks for visiting!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if you ever ate butter pie. Lately I remembered it and bought it. It was the first time my kids are it and they liked it too.

I know years ago I always had a stomach ache after eating butter but those days are over.

Thanks for sharing this story. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never heard of butter pie! I definitely couldn't eat now. @wakeupkitty

Posted using Partiko Android

Esos errores son los que enseñan en la cocina. Me gusta la repostería y siempre invento, con algunas fallas, pero generalmente quedan bien. Mi hijo es el mejor juez.

Thank you @gertu! I agree! I was a late bloomer because Mom was such a neat freak (miss her dearly).

Posted using Partiko Android

That reminds me of a baking disaster I had when trying to make a recipe at around age 12. It was an angel food cake and it called for cream of tartar. Ummm - tartar sauce from the refrigeration is not an acceptable substitute, lol.

I have never tried angel food cake and lol on that substitute! Thanks for your comment @blueeyes8960!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Wanda. That sounds like something I would do - eat the whole batch so mother wouldn’t know. But we always had a dog and he would have helped eat them.

Your baking disaster reminded me of a childhood friend whose mother wouldn’t let her learn cooking as she didn’t want the mess. After marriage, my friend had no idea about making a meal or cleaning the house. Luckily she married a chef.

It’s important to learn living skills while growing up.

I had no idea how to cook, either! Fortunately, I was great at cleaning because I had to do that to Mom's strict standards. She would assign tasks and would make me redo until the job was as good as she cleaned. I can't tell you how many times I had to pull out the sweeper to redo that task! I was a perfectionist at cleaning. I still wash dishes like she taught me to do. I dropped the bleach in wash water when someone was sick though. I hate the smell. I do bleach the sink regularly, though. @redheadpei. Thank you for reading and commenting!

Posted using Partiko Android

I do the bleach thing regularly for the sink and dish cloth. Funny about the cleaning. In my early twenties, I would visit my friend ( in her own house after she married) on a Saturday morning and she would be down on her knees washing the kitchen floor. The rest of the house could be in total chaos but that floor was shining. Washing the kitchen floor was the one job her mother felt she could do safely.

Haha great story, and I can relate with the call for tidyness of german mothers :D

Thank you for your support @criticalthinkin!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59322.53
ETH 2584.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45