Game oversteemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

"We cannot", she said "my savings are gone and the pantry is empty. You have to find a job."

She held the baby in her arms. A tiny, pale heap of bones with skin. It was too weak to cry and she had been too stubborn to breastfeed it.

"You know there are no jobs around here. We all are jobless, useless the AI.."

"You mean you are useless. A man without education, any skills!"

"It is not my fault. I am a product of modern society."

"So am I. Find a job here or elsewhere. I will no longer provide in your needs."

She stood up and left the room.
He hesitated. The magic words... should he use them? She always fell for it and as she smiled he knew he was safe.

"You know I..."

"Here is your bag", she said and threw his small backpack on his lap. "All your belongings are in it."

"My belongings? What do you mean? This house, my computer, my games..."

"You know the rules. Who does not work will not eat."

She held the door wide open as he slowly left the house. She would not miss his baby face, his acne.

"I will consider it as a break", he said as she closed the door, "a break for us all."

This is a 5-minute freewrite. I used 2 prompts given by @mariannewest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This was a really good story! That prompt had me stumped.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was not the kind of story I intended to write. For some reason the HFs stumped me. ☹
Thanks for reading and commenting. 😘💕

Posted using Partiko Android

I like this story and how you wrote it :) 💓Thank you for sharing your writing with us!

I thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read it.
It was not exactly what I had in mind.

My connection is slow so I don't think I can join the freewrites or any contest as long as I am not able to load a post.

Thanks for commenting, have a great day. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71