You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How we lose by being right

in #palnet5 years ago

You are quite correct that we are wrong about things until we learn facts that enable us to be right about them. I learned that, as do we all, the hard way. I also found that being proved wrong enabled me to be right, and that enabled me to love being proved wrong. It's the only way I can become right when I am wrong. Since being wrong can be fatal, I don't want to remain wrong any longer than necessary.

Being effective is how war is justified. Violence is effective. The power of violence enables those who are wrong to effect their will despite their inability to persuade those that are right. It can also do the opposite, but that isn't pertinent in context. In society there are numerous contests that are resolved by physical might, and might always makes right, right?

Clearly, that is false, but it is the way of the world we live in today. Seeking to effect your understanding - whether right or wrong - is a guarantee of doing stuff wrong sometimes, and if you strive to maximize your effectiveness successfully you will thereby prevent what is right from happening. That's not something I want as my legacy.

Therefore, I strive to be factually correct - right - and to not compel others to agree with me. When I discover I am wrong, I change my mind, and am glad. If others fail to be right, that's on them. I am only responsible for me, now that my kids are raised.

Seeking to be effective over being right is seeking to do wrong to others when you are wrong. As soon as you add the power of violence to that equation, you add violent crime to the means of being effective. Taxation is theft. War is murder. Government is thuggery.

They're effective, but crimes against humanity, and keeping society from improving by keeping those that are right from proving they are.

'Be always sure you are right, then go ahead.'--Davy Crockett

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67118.32
ETH 3521.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20