New Faucet On Steem: Get Paid For CAPTCHAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

We have seen those annoying captchas that have to be done to prove we are "human". Run by Google, they tend to put us on an endless loop before allowing us to proceed forward.

Of course, these have been used with Bitcoin and other cryptocurrency faucets over the past few years. This is something that allowed people without much in the way of resources to get a bit of Bitcoin. It obviously will not make one rich, hence the name faucet and not geyser.

There is now something similar to this on Steem. Using Steem-Engine, a token was created that enables people to get paid for doing captcha.

This was put together by @heimindanger, the one behind D.tube. It is a rather simple format, that is funded via advertising.

The CAPTCHA token is now available for earning.

captcha.png

Like all Steem-Engine tokens, this is available for conversion to STEEMP, the STEEM Peg.

captcha.png

The site can be found at https://captcha-faucet.herokuapp.com/?valid=true.

I think this is a really good idea. This is a way for smaller accounts to grow their stake in whatever tokens that are of interest.

According to the token write up on Steem-Engine, the idea is pretty straight forward.

Earn +1 CAPTCHA on your account for each passed captcha on the website! Website earnings will be used to rebuy the CAPTCHA tokens and burn them!

Here is a very simple way to bring money into the ecosystem. The website earnings, from advertising, is going to be used to buy the CAPTCHA tokens and burn them. It is a classic conversion of fiat to cryptocurrency. It is a business model that can be replicated by other ventures.

Nothing earth-shattering but another little project tied to the Steem platform.


If you found this article informative, please give an upvote and resteem.

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

I tried implementing hcaptcha onto my site. I get the same captchas as his site, but it doesn't seem to work for some reason. The captchas never seem to be approved.

Make sure to read about the CORS/CORB details in their documentation. It basically doesn't work on localhost, you need to put it on a domain (or modify your hosts file)

Read documentation, who even does that? Haha. Yea, I tried it out on localhost in about 5 min and gave up after that didn't work. Thank for that info, will look more into it now.

Thanks for the info. I was able to get it working after you told me about this. https://giftgiver.me if you want to check it out.

Let's say I claim an account with my RC / account tickets. Can I use this to fund it with SP for 1 week basically?

7 days is what you get it for. If you sort of cooldown on activity during the 3 day waiting period before you can request again, yea. It's meant to help people who are low on SP, and thus are low on RC.

Thanks for Sharing @taskmaster4450! I actually tested it out for about 30 minutes resulting in ~160 CAPTCHA. They should make a game out of this with top scores of Captcha solved by users :)

Steem is really becoming the ultimate time-wasting platform :)

Das finde ich eine Prima Idee, denn mich nervt das auch jedes mal 😅

I've moved it to https://captcha.steemwhales.com on it's own domain now!

Here are the current global stats. FYI 1 HMT ~= 1 USD but HMT will be a crypto soon !

Also earnt about 350 sat from ads lol

I plan to add a leaderboard on the site to give some incentive for people to hold instead of just dumping after a session :))

So much much does that 19.5959 HMT equate to in USD?

This is actually really great because I've talked about how I would use this technology quite a few times.

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@edicted/captchain

We can start connecting this service with other services to make it much harder to automate bots that leech rewards. For example, you planted Wheat on your SteemFarm; complete a Captcha. You want to harvest the Wheat; complete the Captcha. Now it's much much harder to bot the in game economy and ruin it.

Rewards for being human. Nice!

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting, I grabbed a couple we’ll see if it goes anywhere!😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

I tried it a few times... Never recieved my tokens. Made sure to change the name on the bottom to me too.... Ohh well

Cool idea- I think your link leads to a specific persons captcha - would love the link to personalize my own.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You can change that

Posted using Partiko Android

Somehow I don't feel so excited about this! I don't see any limitation for how many captcha you can solve in a day and neither there is any advt nor any way for advertisers to contact you. Obviously, the token isn't valued much in the market.

Steemians have better places on Steem chain to spend their time on. But may be this project can turn out better for crypto enthusiast and faucet hunters outside of Steem ecosystem.

There's advertising on the site above and below the captcha.

I don't think there needs to be a place for advertisers to find- as long as the affiliation exists.

I don't know if captcha token is worth it, I just think that your evaluation is unfair and I hope that it doesn't affect other people's decisions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps you're right. I just checked back the site and found that captcha solving is disabled for me and I see a warning message that I need to disable my adblock before I could mine CAPTCHA. Earlier this wasn't the case. So I didn't see any ads while I was able to mine CAPTCHA. May be there are some more changes planned to it!
Happy mining to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77