This is what I was drawing a year before I joined Steem

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20191018_063247.jpg

This morning I saw my old notebook on the piano. It was from early 2017, exactly a year before I came to Steem. I was surprised to find these drawings with some animals in them. With each animal, I drew a question, an idea or an observation that was bothering me throughout the day. It's like an early form of comics before Pinky and Spiky were even conceived although you can see some hedgehogs and a pig in there too.

I got the idea of drawing animals with a sentence from the genius comic artist Lynda Barry without whose teachings my comics simply wouldn't exist. By the way, she has just published her new book "Making Comics". I pre-ordered it several weeks ago and looking forward to studying from it soon.

So anyway, all of these drawings were colored with an old 24 color oil pastel kit which I still keep in my room and sometimes use for my Pinky and Spiky comics if I happen to draw late at night in my bed.

Curiously this is a mini notebook from the world-renown German music publisher Baerenreiter which has produced many important organ scores as well. I bought this notebook at the music store here in Vilnius with the hope of using for my sketches of musical compositions and other notes. But as you can see bellow, I found a different use for them.

Let me know what you think.

IMG_20191018_063657.jpgIMG_20191018_063522.jpgIMG_20191018_063511.jpgIMG_20191018_063635.jpgIMG_20191018_063532.jpgIMG_20191018_063547.jpgIMG_20191018_063606.jpgIMG_20191018_063500.jpgIMG_20191018_063259.jpgIMG_20191018_063338.jpgIMG_20191018_063402.jpgIMG_20191018_063320.jpgIMG_20191018_063446.jpg

Check out my Pinky and Spiky comic books:
https://amazon.com/author/vidaspinkevicius


I'm co-owner of witness untersatz with contrabourdon!


Sort:  

Oh! Really amazing Gentleman!. I always appreciate such things which took years to get complete. I don't know why but it always appears that time add the flavor.
I remember my case when I spend almost 3 month to think and write a paragraph of my first novel. I did n't published that. But yeah, that part I wrote on steemit and then I receive some good responses also.
Thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you can write your next novel on Steem. Scene after scene - day after day. When it's done - compile it into a single document and make an ebook and paper book and sell it through Kidle Direct Publishing platform on Amazon. Additional source of revenue... Plus you get paid to create it on Steem.

I will be doing this but not on steemit! Sometimes things should not be told before it comes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey! Gentleman! I am waiting on SE to buy it! Can't wait any more.

Actually I will be moving outside to my native village from town.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not sure I understand what are you trying to by on SE... Please explain.

Steemit engine.

Posted using Partiko Android

What tokens?

organduo token.

Posted using Partiko Android

@saun. Running with bandwidth I am @saun. Organduo token.

Organduo token. Gentleman!

Poweruping a bit more STEEM gives you more bandwidth.

I like your fridge. Your drawings are beautiful. And I can see good citations.

I was drawing too. But I quited to do that until Pinky and Spiky contest. How do you think, perhaps I could find my old drawings and post them to Steem?

Posted using Partiko Android

Do it first, apologize later...

Ok ok... I will find them first...

Posted using Partiko Android

There’s one drawing that has an interesting registration 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love the pun on second photo

it's definitely Bach

It is a great style of drawing.

Seeing all the drawings together in the notebook gives them added context.

You should produce a 'page-a-day' diary for next year with a drawing and sentence for each day...

Thanks @pennsif! The way I write a diary now is by making comics. Somehow I like that visual aspect of storytelling.

Isn't it cool, that little flashback feeling you get when you find old doodles?
I like your style. My favorites are the pig and the rabbit

Hahaha! They are my favorite too... When I do it something every day, I don't notice the overall effect but after a year when I look back - I moved a small mountain... And the opposite is true - when I skip a day without practice, nothing happens. However, this way I'm still moving away from reaching my goals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40