Tested 8B pencil today

in #palnet5 years ago

Today I bought 8 Faber Castell pencils - B, 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B, 6B, 7B, 8B and decided to test them on a sketch of the goose.

I'm not sure how to use softer pencils. Do you use a few of them in one drawing or draw with a certain one all the time?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

0ECE6B5A-3B92-4012-B92E-796A69D9A7CC.jpeg

You start with your #2 pencil to lightly sketch out your image. It’s the lightest pencil of the bunch. I hope you bought a kneaded eraser, so not to rip your paper when you need to erase. Fabar pencils I found are the best pencils by far, fantastic choice!
Drawing a circle, triangle, rectangle, or square to practice your shading is something that is very valuable to learn. This is where all your pencils and graphite tones can be put to good use. Try drawing a circle first with your #2 pencil, you may need a protractor, or stencil to make a perfect circle. Sometimes I will trace around a jar lid, or perhaps a coffee cup. Then imagine where your light source is coming from, and start shading in with your darkest color first, that would be your #8 pencil. Proceed there after that with your next darker color your # 7 pencil, then continue on down with your different shades of dark to light, eventually to your pure white where the light is mostly shining on your sphere. Practice, practice practice, makes perfect. I predict in know time you’ll be drawing realism. Shading is everything, with shading my circle looks like it has form and shape, other than just flat. The deepest black is your friend, it will pop your drawing to make it really stand out. Graphite pencils are very messy, so I suggest you put another piece of clean white paper under you hand as you rest it on your drawing, you’ll be glad you did. Every drawing I do, I start from the left hand side of the paper, and as I’m drawing I move to the right, so that I won’t get to many smug marks on my drawings. If your left handed, you might want to start from the other side HA HA! Have Fun Vidas, and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask me❣️

Simply Wow

My friend, you are amazing!

Thank you friend, I hope my advice will help him further ❣️

Thanks so much, dear @lildebbiecakes! This is an excellent advice! I will start practicing today and post it on Steemit.

Wow friend, thank you for such a generous upvote on my reply, I cannot exspress my gratitude, I’ve never had such a generous reply gift before. You never have to give me anything you know, I do not expect to get anything for replying to you, I’m just being your friend, and I care❣️

You are most welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

I only had used 6B before from light sketches down to the deepest shading. I am not that well informed then why there are so many pencils so my choice is usually 6B as it can pretty much do all the tasks

Maybe it's the same reason why there are so many cryptos? Hahaha!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love those sketch

Thanks for the pictures of the geese.
I was interested to see these differences in color shades :-)

It's quite complicated for a beginner like me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84