Creators and addictions

in #palnet5 years ago

It's 7:03 am in Vilnius as I'm writing this. I got up a half hour before and started answering people's comments on Steem. Yesterday I worked late in the evening to draw my Pinky and Spiky comic and a sketch with geese.

Maybe I shouldn't do this? Maybe I should take more rest and the first things I do in the morning shouldn't be Steeming?

Maybe I could go for a walk or a run outside while the weather still isn't hot?

Maybe...

Maybe I'm addicted to the internet. But not all internet. I barely spend time on FB where all my organist friends are. The reason for this all Steemians know very well - FB return on attention is very small. For most people non-existent.

I'm still livestreaming my organ music there and posting organ related stuff because my organ engagements in part come because of my activity on FB. I cannot deny it.

But it's not direct result. It's not like on Steem you get an upvote and this upvote is worth something.

Plus I sometimes share my Steem posts there and it's good for Steem visibility, I think.

Now my urge to use a phone and my bluetooth keybord and start Steeming in the morning or in the evening or during the day might seem like addiction. And to a certain degree it is.

But it's also like art. You see, I'm a creator at heart. So I'm addicted to creating. And if a day goes by without me creating something in words, pictures, sounds or videos I don't feel right.

In fact, I don't feel entirely right if I don't squeeze composing music in my day. And the last time I did some composing I think was over a week ago. I should do it today even for as little as 15 minutes.

Otherwise it's like a pet silently watching at me and wanting to be fed. And you know what happens if we don't feed our pets every day...

So yes, I'm addicted to creating in multiple mediums but I think it's better than being addicted to scrolling FB feed, watching snippets of YT videos all day long or checking news portals at random intervals just in case to satisfy your FOMO.

It's 7:28 am and I already have a post created.

Now it's time to sit on the organ bench with @laputis before breakfast.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It seems to me that a person should first of all do something for which he has a soul. If you like to do what you are doing in the first place, then this is correct.

I think so too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I recognize the feeling. I always feel best when I create something beautiful. Beauty is of course a subjective thing. To me, the scores I create of music since long forgotten are things of great beauty. And then I have the privilige of playing them! Today is 'production day': several hours available to create scores and play the music in it.

Have fun with your creativity!

Likewise I, actually I don't see my time on steemit as an addiction, I believe it is the passion I have towards it. Moreover, nothing is been gained from Facebook like you said. Except if I want to check some news stuff there

The sooner people on Facebook realize that their attention is literally worth something, the better.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 42.69% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @organduo! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65