It's raining tokens are you getting yours?

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Yes the SCOT fever has infected the steem based economy, and the only prescription is more tokens.

Yep it's the fever for sure but at least it's keeping our minds occupied and may even give steem a lift?

The lift be gradual, more like roots in a floodplain. This is causing a TON of steem to get staked as SP by the tokens that are getting created and they shouldn't be in any kind of rush to head for the exits anytime soon, at least I'd hope not, lol.

I'm with you on that one. The more we can reduce the selling pressure the better.

This experiment was always going to be a long term proposition. You can't change the world's mind in five minutes.

The way steemit was marketed just led to a lot of confusion for so many people. Slow and steady wins the race. Check the flagpole lol

steem boat.jpg

Ahaha, love it! Would've never caught that if you didn't mention it.

I was just about to write about this, but you've done a wonderful job. I logged in to steem-engine today and saw several new tokens in my wallet. Makes waking up each day more fun!

Thanks for your warm comments and the resteem. Much appreciated.

new tokens in my wallet. Makes waking up each day more fun! :-)

It sure does put a smile on my face too.

I also have a few accounts now at other related platforms, but I did not think of using dedicated steemit accounts for each one. Thanks for the idea...though I don't know if I can alter my existing accounts to suit.

When I opened my 2nd steemit account, it cost me STEEM3. Now you say I can open an account using only RC?

Anyway, thanks for an interesting read. You made it easy to learn something new

Yep it's getting fairly complicated to keep track of all the developments but it is pretty simple to get another account if you have enough RC's that is. Check out https://steemworld.org and scroll to the bottom.

There is an option to create new accounts on steemworld using RC's. simple.

You can use your new account to vote on things that you find, that you think bring value to the system. You do not have to sign up again. It just seemed like a simple temporary solution to me.

Thanks.

Actually, I had understood it differently. Like you I am also on palnet, but as 'arthur.grafo' so what I do there affects this account. I'd thought you were suggesting that I create, for instance, 'arthur.grafo2' and then using that name sign up at, for example, palnet.

It is too late for me, but maybe others starting now can see the advantages of doing something like that?

If I have understood the developments correctly, you or I could buy/create a new token at steemengine and start our own platform? In that platform, our tokens could be related to SP or not, as we wish?

What I have not seen anywhere, is what maintaining such a platform would be.

I would like one where the curators do not exist. There can be 'readers' who comment and vote. Each member is expected to contribute by posting or by making comments. Each would have a Rep number, but also a 'voltmeter' showing how many others they have upvoted. The lower your voltmeter is, the less value upvotes by others towards you have.

Does that make sense?

If I have understood the developments correctly, you or I could buy/create a new token at steemengine and start our own platform? In that platform, our tokens could be related to SP or not, as we wish?

This point above is correct. Anyone can create their own website or d.tube.
From what I understand the basic website template is on github.
It would need a decent machine to run it smoothly. Not mega powerful but not the everyday PC.
A reasonable industry class server would do it.

What I have not seen anywhere, is what maintaining such a platform would be.

It depends on the volume of traffic and whether you self host the website or use AWS or a similar hosting service. It can be expensive if successful at attracting eyeballs so it would need a sustainable income from some source.
Adsense is terrible but there are other options.

I would like one where the curators do not exist. There can be 'readers' who comment and vote. Each member is expected to contribute by posting or by making comments. Each would have a Rep number, but also a 'voltmeter' showing how many others they have upvoted. The lower your voltmeter is, the less value upvotes by others towards you have.

Interesting idea about zero curation but aren't the readers fulfilling that role by upvoting?

aren't the readers fulfilling that role by upvoting?

At Steemit, I can run down the list of new posts, upvoting from there without even catching a glimpse of the actual post itself. I would not allow a button there and perhaps it can be programmed that upvoting only happens when the page is open (preventing easy access by bots).

I get the feeling that the lack of a sense of community comes from many not viewing posts, just setting an auto-upvote. They seem to think that makes the party receiving the upvote feel appreciated. It does not. A comment, even a slightly aggressive one, is appreciated by me more than a bot upvote.

I am asking questions because I am ignorant, but I have an idea (almost just an idea) and I am waiting to see if I get the money to do it. If I do, then I will commit and employ at least one or two coders to get it started (it is very different from anything else on the web, so maybe it will be more difficult to market it).

As a strategy for the health of the steem platform this is a very bad idea.

At Steemit, I can run down the list of new posts, upvoting from there without even catching a glimpse of the actual post itself.

There are people that do this kind of thing but they tend to be new to the platform and do not understand what is really going on.

Newbs often vote on 100's of posts thinking that they are going to make some steem but end up depleting their voting power down to zero.

We get just 10 x 100% upvotes every twenty four hours. If a user just votes continuosly on random posts it will not benefit them at all and because we can see all activity on the chain this is easy to track.

Voting for content that you feel brings some value to the chain and that other people may find useful is the key to successful curation.

With hardfork 21 coming along. Those with good curation skills will benefit everyone.

Curation is a skill that has to be leaned like anything else and auto voting can aid curation up to a point and only once you have found a content creator that consistently produces engaging content.

The steem ecosystem is a steep learning curve for just about everyone.

Have you ever been to steemfest or had a meetup with other steemians? If you haven't I suggest you try to meet some.

There is a very strong sense of community here but you mostly see this side of things when you meet people in real life.

It is great when you meet the person behind the username that you may have been talking to for a couple of years online. Because you share the same interests it's always great fun.

Thank you for this post. The steem blockchain is getting more and more confusing for noobs like me.

Do I stake all the tokens that are in my steem engine wallet? And if you don't mind, can you explain to this guy who is a beer short of a six-pack, what does claiming an account means, and what is involved.

Thank you for your time.

Don't worry, you are not alone in being confused. The steem ecosystem is growing very fast with new developments every week.

Do I stake all the tokens that are in my steem engine wallet?

Short answer yes stake all the tokens. (some cannot be staked...yet!)

Claiming an account is just applying for a new account name by using your resource credits is pretty simple if you have enough RC's that is and you have a plan for what you are going to do with the new account. i.e. give it to a family member, friend or use it to start a project which is seperate from your main account.

I have a manual curation account at @steemimages for example. It is used to push up content that I find interesting, useful or engaging.

I can see from your wallet that you do not have enough to claim an account using this method so the other alternative is to buy one for 3 steem from https://steemworld.org if you need one for reasons as mentioned above.

Hope this helps and please do ask questions as this is helpful to everyone. We were all newbs once and we are all still learning. Remember to have fun on the journey!

Thanks for reading.

Thank you @molometer for the clear reply. You are very kind and helpful.

Okay, I don't think I have need for another account. Will let that pass until such times when I do need it.

Yes, I do have fun here. Made a few friends too. All good. :-)

My pleasure and never be afraid to ask questions. By asking questions we can all learn new things.

Indeed. You are one fine gentleman.😉

Howdy sir molometer! Great job of informing us about this, very much appreciated! Are these new front ends like the SMT's will be, or something similar?

Yep they are similar to SMT's in as far as they have smart contracts afaik.

It's all recorded on the steem blockchain with minimal data of each transaction. A bit like a merkle tree.

Howdy again sir molometer! you lost me with Merkle tree, what is that?

Basically in over simplified terms it is the sum of two previous transactions that can only be arrived at if the numbers add up. 👍

images.png

In cryptography and computer science, a hash tree or Merkle tree is a tree in which every leaf node is labelled with the hash of a data block, and every non-leaf node is labelled with the cryptographic hash of the labels of its child nodes.

Source - Wikipedia

oh, that is in over simplified terms? My gosh I'm hopeless! lol. But thank you sir molometer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27