You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Do You Give Consent When You Can’t?

in #palnet5 years ago

Thanks for the words of encouragement.

I've been working a lot with Dr Rosemary Crossley, who has really taught me a lot about communication. With this client in particular, he really hasn't had the exposure or 'training' in communication for 29 years... so we are really starting from scratch here, but he is showing amazing signs of progress. Yes/No is all I'm doing, but he 'answers' about 30% of the time.

Having said that, the more I work with him, the more I am seeing patterns of behaviour and other signs of non-verbal communication, so I'm getting to understand when he is 'liking' something, and when he doesn't. It's still not fool-proof, but there is a pay-off.

My other non-verbal client is really good with communication; he can gesture, use hand signals for yes/no, and I help him type on a device. We have some great 'conversations', but he's also had the benefit of parents who believed in his ability from a young age!

Thanks again!
😊🙏🏽☯️

Sort:  

No worries. It helps to know we are not alone in our challenges :). Sounds like you have a good support structure under you. 30% is pretty good. Belief in ones ability is so important. I used to write instructional guides for other support workers about my clients gestures/behaviors (with appropriate approval of course). That way if you or the client leaves, the next support worker doesn't have to start from scratch.

Thank you for actually caring. I'm not really sure how Steemit works yet or how much I'll be on here, but feel free to reach out if that would help you. I left the industry a few years ago. It wasn't the clients, but dodgy support workers and the bureaucracy.

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46