DIY Aquaponics Build Log #1 6/21/2019

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

DIY Aquaponics Build Log #1 6/21/2019

I started by measuring the circumference of the cone tanks with a measuring tape for body measurements. Once I determined the circumference I had to divide by pi 3.14 to determine the diameter.

The radius worked out to be just slightly less than 1ft.

I wanted at least 2" of space from the edge so I measured my center mark right at 14".

I put a screw in the center mark so I could use a peice of string to trace my circle.

I measured out 11&3/4" of string and tied a pencil to the screw. Keeping the pencil as vertical as possible and holding tension I traced my circle onto the plywood.

I drilled a hole just big enough for my jigsaw blade to make my cut.

I cut out my first circle staying on the inside of the line I traced. It was a bit too small so I shifted the cut to the outside of my traced circle and it ended up working perfectly.

I have the layout for the frame to allow for a 2" ID PVC pipe to sit in between the tanks.

To be continued tomorrow where I will finish the frame, and level everything out with the ground.

Tune into my podcast Meadows and Makers tomorrow with guest @projectsupercar from 5-7pm UTC 1-3pm EST. You can listen in @ http://mspwaves.com/home/listen/
or participate in the show in the discord chat @ https://discord.gg/YqrAWsd

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future,
Greg Doud @makinstuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Howdy sir makinstuff! I was going to ask where you buy cone tanks like that but I read your comments which answered that. It will be interesting to watch this project come together!

I'll be there, just getting my head around the Discord interface :)

Interesting tanks! Where did you get something like that?

Thanks, turns out there is a biodiesel supply company called Duda Diesel in the town close to my parents. These tanks are a common stock item they have, so I was able to drive to pick em up instead of having to pay for the shipping.

Not having to pay for shipping does help a lot with stuff like that.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Hi, @makinstuff!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48