The Challenge || A Swim Mum's Treasure Hunt Inspired By @QuratorsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago

Add a heading.png

So what do you do when you are stuck for hours, in a packed stadium, as the Supporting Parent at a Swim Meet? You look out for some challenges on the SteemVerse and @Qurator's Treasure Hunt Week 3 head butts me. So the clues (7 of them) have been dropped on Discord. And I am sliding in at the 11th hour as today's the last day.

I grabbed the doggy bag my lunch came in. Saved it to write the required text to qualify which is @Qurator's Treasure Hunt Week 3 along with my handle. Gobbled my food (I'm sure chewing just 20 times instead 32 won't harm me too much) and got ready to take pictures of the 7 Treasures. I liked that it had a fire design by the way.

♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥

Salt

salt.jpg

The Swim Meet was held at the National Stadium. This pool is one of the few that's filled with Salt Water. It was upgraded from a Chlorine pool when we hosted the SouthEast Asian Games 2017. They say Salt Water is better for the skin but it is expensive to maintain.

Taxi

taxi.jpg

Sure they are not your ordinary yellow or red taxis. They don't even have meters but that's because they don't charge their passengers. In fact, these drivers are under appreciated and over worked as they drive their passengers almost every single day, sometimes twice a day and then hang around for a couple of hours so they can drive them back. They even feed their passengers and help them change and some even help carry their equipment to the pool. The drivers of these taxis are called Swim Mums/Dads.

At the beginning, when we were considering the Competitive level, a coach asked me if I was ready to commit. He said 50% comes from the child, the other 50% from the parent. Because I will have to be commited to bring him on time and for all sessions, and there will be days he wouldn't want to go, and I had to find ways to keep him going. I didn't know what I was saying Yes to 😭

Eleven

eleven.jpg

This may have been the hardest picture I took today. I had to hold the piece of paper in one hand, the camera/phone in the other, and make sure I only captured 11 beams holding up the roof of the pedestrian walkway.....
Did you stop to count? 😉

Excitement

excitement 1.jpg

See this long queue of adults and kids, under the afternoon sun? They have been waiting for over half hour for the Milo truck to start serving the Free Milo.

excitment 2.jpg

Of course I stood in line too. These Milo trucks have been doing their rounds ever since I was a kid. They'd come to school and the whole school would be excited for days leading up to their visit. I remember we'd line up again in the hopes of getting another cup but it would always finish before we got our second chance.

Adults still talk about the Milo trucks that visited schools. They don't make the school rounds as much now but they do turn up at most Sporting events that involve kids and I have seen them at every single swim meet since we started 4 years ago.
We have been trying to find out the secret to how they prepare their Milo because there's just something special about it. Or maybe it is the wait 😅

Mailbox

mailbox.jpg

A Swim Meet can last anywhere between 10 to 12 hours. If it rains with thunder and lightning, then even longer for we will have to wait it out. Some Meets are over 2 days, and some 3. This was was over 3 days. It is the best time to catch up with all your pending emails and clean your inbox. This is really my Mailbox now with almost everything going online. I managed to clear over 200 and have 17 left for me to go through it proper.

Ink

ink.jpg
The swimmers are advised to write their Event, Heat and Lane on their arm. When he was younger, I used a marker pen and it was big so there was no missing his turn. Now in his teens, he says he doesn't need it, that he can remember. He let me write it with a gel ink pen so I can take a picture to show you what it looks like.

Ticket

ticket.jpg

There are 3 pools here. One Dive Pool and two Olympic sized. One of them is open to the public. You have to pay per session. And here are the ticket prices.

♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥

And that concludes my treasure hunt. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did and if you do want to take part in the next one, hop on over into Qurator's discord channel. When I joined Qurator I had to pay a one off fee, but now I believe it might be free. You only have to run your posts by the moderators so it lives up to the quality expected as they will not vote for poor quality posts. But they will tell you how to improve if you are not up to par, so it is a great way to grow here on the SteemVerse 🙂

sign off GIF.gif

Images & Videos are from my Photo Gallery unless stated
Apps Used: Canva.com, ezgif.com, MojiPop
Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Well done with the entry to @qurator treasure hunt, well thought out and presented!

Had so much fun doing this...
Thank you so much @joanstewart :D

I want milo too!

But you have to take the long wait along with it
Only then will it taste like heaven hahahaha ;)

Teenagers always want to be their own boss

Posted using Partiko Android

So true...
"It's my life!!" he once told me
I said when you can earn your own keep... we will revisit this statement... until then there's going to be a compromise...
But now he is slightly older, he understands better... so he just uses his switch to shut me off when he can hahahaha

It is well. Once he listens when it matters, it's great

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, your collections of the treasures are very creative!!

Thank you @joelai
I actually had a lot of fun putting this together :D

I'll bet you have!

Hello @kaerpediem

This is an one time message to inform you about my existence.

My purpose it to support all seven77 members mainly by upvoting their posts.
In near future more functionalities will be added so every member of seven77 network can benefit with different ways.
Following me will auto-register you to my list and add you to the next day voting pool. Every day 0-2 (based on registered members) random members will get a full vote.
Delegating power to me guarantees you a vote every day with a worth based on your collected points and makes you eligible for a boost vote based on other members points and power.
Members with higher points have higher priority and higher vote value and they can also support other members if their points exceed maxPowerPerVote. Delegation needs one day to activated and one day to generate points.

There are already 91 active members and they shared a total of $2.4192.


At the current time my full vote worth $0.0318 but with your help this can change.
Delegating power will increase my vote worth and your reward.
10SP, 20SP, 30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1,000SP, 5,000SP, Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.


Visit s77assistant's daily report to stay informed about any news.


Thank you for dropping in to let me know of your efforts
Will give it some thought

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48