Sort:  

Weku isn't a fork at all. They literally copied pasted the repository and started a new chain, invariably more corrupt and shady than steemit, which is quite an achievement.

Well, I'm guessing that Smoke, Bear Shares, Dream Real, Weku like you said, @baah, and Serey, are all not forks of Steem and are simply like copies or clones as you put it. My definition of fork would include clones. But strictly speaking, they didn't literally fork like Bitcoin Cash literally forked and split from BTC Bitcoin. Therefore, I guess there has been no Steem forks yet. I remember when Bitcoin forked one time and in one of the exchanges, I think Bittrex, I saw my Bitcoin split so that I would have say 0.005 Bitcoin and 0.005 Bitcoin Cash or whatever it was during the split into Bitcoin Cash and Bitcoin Gold and I don't remember how many times.

But if Steem were to really split and fork like Bitcoin, I wonder if crypto exchanges would split and give clients Steem and New Steem or Old Steem in the same way they did when Bitcoin would split.

They would be in a predicament for sure. Steem has been forked, I remember that Golos let you log in with your steem credentials.

I might have tried Golos once. I will have to try that one again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84