Off to the races!

in #palnet5 years ago

We had a very busy weekend around here. And although we did move the big goat herd since they had eaten everything, the busyness was all about parties. Saturday was my friend Jerry's annual Pig Party, where he roasts an entire pig and everyone brings food, and there is live music and some dancing and carousing that lasts around 24 hours. I absolutely cannot party for 24 hours. I am good for four or five hours tops, but I applaud those who can hold out that long.

IMG_20190817_185341586_HDR.jpg

Most of the pictures I took came out blurry, which I am blaming on bad lighting and moving targets. It had nothing to do with wine.

IMG_20190817_203822275.jpg

The music was great, and although it had sprinkled off and on all day, the evening was dry. Here in Oregon we won't let a little rain ruin an outdoor event, but it's more fun when we don't have to dry off before we retire for the night.

IMG_20190817_205935236.jpg

Sunday was one of my favorite parties of the year: the annual paper boat race!

IMG_20190818_185025954_HDR.jpg

The rules are pretty simple. The boats must be made of paper or cardboard and can't be longer than one foot in length. Every year the boat designs get a little more elaborate, and although there is a prize for the winner, nobody really cares about that. The crowning moment of the event is the inevitably disastrous launch. The idea is to time it to catch the outgoing tide, so all the boats will float downstream. Sometimes that actually happens. This year, though...

IMG_20190818_183220160_HDR.jpg

While the current was going the right direction, the wind was going upstream, so that's where all the boats went.

IMG_20190818_183247329.jpg

The goose and duck that hang out near the dock seemed to be pretty amused by the whole thing, until they got curious about the boats. I was really hoping that the goose would sink half the fleet, but since none of the boats were edible, her interest waned quickly.

IMG_20190818_183252395.jpg

I'm thinking that next year we should put crackers on all the boats. The launch is always a disaster, but it would be so much funnier if the race had an offense.

IMG_20190818_183305531.jpg

Our goal has been to design a boat that will burst into flames and sink in the middle of the race, but we haven't come up with a way to pull that off. It would require a remote detonation or a very slow fuse, because of the launch problems. If anyone can come up with an idea, I would greatly appreciate it. My goal is to raise the humor quotient at this event, and I think a flaming boat would do it.

IMG_20190818_183349190.jpg

The wind died down eventually, and the boats drifted downstream, but by then we were tired from laughing and nobody really cared. I was distracted for most of the party because the water district whose books I keep had an outage that affected the entire system, so every couple of minutes my phone was ringing with someone asking me why they didn't have any water. I deployed all the troops, but nobody ever told me what happened. I guess I'm important enough to handle all the money and the phone calls, but not important enough that I need to know what's going on.

All in all, it was a fun weekend, but full of so many people that I have felt the need to hibernate for the last couple of days, emerging only to check on my goats and then scurry back home where it's quiet. Well, not exactly quiet, but the voices aren't human.

IMG_20190818_180315936.jpg

I have a busy week ahead, filled with clipping blackberry canes and mending fences. The fences are not metaphorical. The goats are heading off on a big job out of town in a couple of weeks, and the fencing needs to be repaired before they go, since the long distance jobs make me nervous enough without me waking up in the middle of the night worrying that the fence isn't electrified and all the goats will be floating in the bay by the time I get there.

IMG_20190818_165659076.jpg

If all goes well, I will be filled with energy tomorrow and will spend the bulk of the day clipping down the blackberry canes at the last job so I can rest up for a minute before I move on to the next one. Some weeks the energy is easier to find than others.

IMG_20190818_191450894.jpg

Have a lovely day, everyone, no matter what season you're in.

Sort:  

Nothing to do with the wine? ;-)

Your best bet would be some sort of slow fuse, I'd think. If you use an electric system, you'll be dumping a battery into the water. Now, there is a chemical option, if you're very careful. You could put a tiny amount of pure sodium where it will stay dry long enough to get out to sea. The problem is that it basically explodes when it comes in contact with water. You wouldn't want to get it on your skin, either.

On the less destructive side, you could put a bunch of alkaseltzer in there, so it starts to fizz and bulbble! lol

Okay. It might have had something to do with the wine. ;)

We actually tried the alka seltzer thing. It fizzed but it didn't make the boat go any faster, and the tide was so late that year that it was dark by the time it deployed. I have a very sad video. I am looking for flames! Maybe sodium is the way to go. Phosphorus would be great if I could get it, but I'm pretty sure I would be arrested...

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe you could, somehow, put the sodium inside an alka seltzer. Then it would be easier to handle and have a delayed explosion.

Hmmmm. If the NSA knocks down your door, we've never met. ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

@goat-girlz, You had a great weekend :)) I think these paper boats are fun. We all come from childhood and sometimes it is interesting to remember such paper boats from childhood. This many hours of fun at the festival was a good opportunity to recharge positive for the whole week. Thank you for the interesting photos!

Thank you! I love the paper boat race. It does feel like childhood, and it's good to have a chance to relax and chat with humans for a change, instead of just goats.

What an interesting event!
I couldn't do 24 hours either. At least the weather mostly cooperated!

Usually it's really nice that weekend. This has been a strange summer!

Posted using Partiko Android

carousing and paper boat races...

Sounds pretty cool!

I remember partying for 24 hours...Happened over about 12 weeks on and off...Collectively a total of 24 hours. Ok, I lie...Only 15 hours. Close though! 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'll give you a pass on the missing hours. It's all good. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you...I'm partying now actually. On my lunch break. Actually I'm not but in a parallel universe I could be...

Posted using Partiko Android

If there wasn't always a party in your head I would be really disappointed. I'm just saying.

Posted using Partiko Android

There's always something going on in my noggin...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah! Time off for a party. You deserved it. And it seems and sounds like a lovely weekend party.

Thank you! I feel like I deserved a little fun, but it took me a couple of days to catch up afterward!

These are all so wonderful! First no 24 hour partying! LoL.

And the reflections with the boats? I love those! The 6th up from the bottom! Well, all of them!

Thank you! I'm sorry to be so late in responding. It's been another crazy week...

I thought of you while shooting those. I was hoping you would like them.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love them!I hope you are getting some sleep :)

😊
Hello @goat-girlz !
I haven't been to a pig roast in years.
Always had a great yummy time. The folks who hosted it moved :(
I can't party all night anymore. I used to be able to but that ship has sailed.
🍷 the pictures are great. Clear enough to see everyone is having a great time 😉

I haven't been able to party all night for a very long time! It's a rare night that I stay up past 9!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6000 replies. Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Love the idea of this event. And love the steem punk vibe of the band !

Posted using Partiko Android

The band was really good! A little more like hillbilly jazz funk than steam punk, but they were awesome, and the whole event is a highlight of the summer.

You go party girl you did well it sounds like a fun party to be at..lol :)

Ha ha ha! Thanks! It was fun to have a break, but it's back to business for me!

Yep the fun is over work to be done and next time sent me a invite i will come and nuke a few paper boats for you...haha :)

Oh please do! That would be awesome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84