Sort:  

When it happens, it is less damaging than an earthquake. When we move, I will have to build a "roll in" storm shelter for my sweetie!

I don't think he cares for dead eye too much, LOL! No his name is not Richard...too bad that would be better!

When they do happen, it is ugly. We get a lot of practice at storm clean up. The last time it was floods.

:'(

Yeah, you gotta put a ramp in I guess, set it up for her. How long roughly would you be down there? Is it only for an hour or so or an extended period?

Cleaning up would suck knowing it may have to be done again, and again, maybe in the same season I guess.

I plan to make it above ground with reinforced cement walls that will be buried for protection.

I plan short term, unless the liberals start something bad.

The last major clean up was flooding.

Flooding can be terrible to clean up...So messy.

That shelter sounds cool. I assume you mean that you'll cover the concrete walls like a mound right? That should keep things pretty safe. I'd like a bunker myself, something small, maybe say, 8-10 shipping containers burried and all connected... Etc etc. 😂

I plan to build with cinder blocks; then drop in rebar in the holes, then pour them full. On a slab of course, with a beam supported corrugated steel roof, covered with reinforced concrete.

Then I'll berm it.

Only eight, LOL?

:)>

That sounds cool. That's how they build houses in the far north of Autralia. Not always but a lot of them
In the cyclone areas. They don't add the berms though.

Should be nice and sturdy, and at ground level easy to roll a wheel chair into. What sort of size do you reckon?

8 not enough? Better make it 12! 🤣

The berms are added for energy efficiency. I will build a neighborhood shelter, maybe 15' by 20'. I will use it as a root cellar too. I will split it in half so she will be separate.

:)>

Nice. Large enough for supplies and a few people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71639.05
ETH 3841.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49