I just got a CEASE AND DESIST

in #palnet5 years ago

Someone who has no idea what is steemit found out their article was shared through @dlike by a steem user who I had never heard of before. I have no idea how, but they've managed to email me a cease and desist through steemmonsters.club's administration email.

I guess this is why people include "this website is in no way affiliated with whoever/whatever"... Still, I don't think this situation has ever happened to anyone else around here.

...Comment something to enter a 1 sbi giveaway...

Sort:  

Ohh wow. Sounds very strange and could be some sort of phishing oder social engineering. Be careful when including your mail address in plaintext on your website. Crawlers will find it ;D

I was careful... I think it's legit.

Your number in my sbi lottery is 1. Good luck!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Haha, that's crazy. Yeah always add disclaimers

Posted using Partiko Android

One of a kind crazy.

Your number in my sbi lottery is 4. Good luck!

How did you get the c&d, did you resteem his post?

Your number in my sbi lottery is 5. Good luck!

Something lol but real talk that is crazy

Posted using Partiko Android

Your number in my sbi lottery is 6. Good luck!

Wow, that's just messed up, did you respond to them letting them know that you're not involved in the plagiarism?

Yes. Although the author who shared their article didn't do any plagiarism either. They just talked about it a bit with their own text and linked to the original article. They even atributed it to the owner themselves citing their name... Which are all things I just tried to explain in response.

So the owner is breaking the law, simply because they don't want people talking about their article. A cease and desist is for piracy, and plagiarism... And what you just described is neither, it's protected under fair use.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think they understand what is @dlike, blockchain, steemit etc. I don't think they even checked what was really written. Meh.

Your number in my sbi lottery is 2. Good luck!

Wow, bizarre they chose to send the letter to you.

Technically, it was sent to https://steemmonsters.club's admin. Yeah, that doesn't help.

Your number in my sbi lottery is 7. Good luck!

Please I need it

Posted using Partiko Android

Your number in my sbi lottery is 8. Good luck!

Interesting, I'm wondering what dots this person connect to send you the C&D.

#spt #palnet #sct

My guts tell me it's from frantically googling for a way to contact the company behind steemit. #spt #palnet #sct

Your number in my sbi lottery is 9. Good luck!

lol that's so strange, I've only used dlike once but I thought it posts the original link front and centre... lol

poor stressed out person :( maybe you should hunt down the firm and call them? It's seems like that would have to go through at least a few people that didn't know what steem was... damn I thought we were more popular than that.

Well goodluck, keep us posted!

Your number in my sbi lottery is 10. Good luck!

I think we are popular in the cryptospace only. Yeah, they seemed stressed out. Can't blame them considering what article it was, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22