Being the Light for Negative People

in #palnet5 years ago

In my daily walk, I run into a lot of people who tend to be down on themselves. You know, the "glass half-full" type? There is a lady at my job who is negative on almost everything. We work in this beautiful environment, with an easygoing boss, which makes it a joy to come in everyday. However, she seems to bring troubles from outside the place which has the effect of poisoning the air around her. The constant negativity seems to spew outward like a torrent of lava, spraying rain on the parade of anyone she comes in contact with.

All except me.

I have no idea how many trips around the Sun I have left and have no intention of letting someone else drag me down. Every time she would see something in a bad way, I always managed to point out the bright side of life. The thought was, that there is always some sliver of goodness in a situation that might be preventing something even worse from happening. This person is now in that period of "wanting to be alone" which is just fine by the rest of us. There are times when people need the space to work things out for themselves.

Cast a calm shadow

Have you ever met people like this? I think the best thing we can do in these situations, is to be a ray of peace and happiness for them when they're ready to see the light. No one can be rushed into this insight, it can only happen when they have the will to accept peace. There are many things to be thankful for and as my Grandmother always said "Count your blessings!" So take a deep breath and picture wonderful things. Have an awesome day everyone!

Thanks for your support!

Follow Me: @evernoticethat

Join Actifit through my referral link and let's stay active while earning AFIT tokens together.

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

image credit: 1, 2

If you liked this post, you can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

I'm happy to say that I've always been able to be happy for the blessings of others, even when I've been having trying times myself.

I thank my parents for their example.

And I've provided a listening ear and a shoulder to more people than I can count. I seem to have one of those faces that others are drawn to confide in, like it or not, often including strangers on the street.

Yeah, I have bad days like everyone, but I do my best to be cheerful despite it, and not to bring others down.

And I've been told more than once that, just by habitually smiling at others, I helped to turn around their day, so I count that as an accomplishment.

My goal is to make my corner of the world better than I found it, and in that, I seem to have mostly succeeded.

Posted using Partiko Android

You sound a lot like me @crescendoofpeace Everyone comes to me as well, as they say I'm a good listener and very discreet. The important thing is the difference we're making in the lives of others. We just need to remember to make some time for ourselves as well. Take care! :)

Very true! You can lead a horse to water, as the saying goes.
Sometimes people find comfort in feeling that way. Whereby the fear keeps them safe and well within their comfort zone. Unfortunately, they must recognize that truth first.
As you said, keep being the light for them to follow. x

It's heartening to think that after we pass on, we may meet many of the people we helped along the way. Keep Shining! :)

It’s great that you try to stay so positive. Let’s hope that you still have many many trips around the sun left.

Transhumanism may help take care of that. In 20 years, I might be a brain surrounded by metal, plastic and silicone. Bring on our cyborg overlords!

Yes! Count the blessings you have rather than looking at the things others have that you don't. When you're thankful for whatever you have, then you'll be happy regardless. If you're unhappy with what you have, all the stuff in the world won't fill that void.

Exactly. There's way too much more, more, more and me, me, me. What would this world be like if we all cared about each other the way we do ourselves? Let's give it a try.

Hi @evernoticethat!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.636 which ranks you at #6068 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43