Lessons In Respect

in #palnet5 years ago

A27DCC0F-D1D4-4E01-94C9-424A3B442264.jpeg

Today I had to run to the local Walmart to pick up a few things (always a nightmare) I took my autistic stepson with me to give my wife a break. We made our round through to store, pharmacy, stopped to look at toys for a while, etc. Finally we had just one item left to get, the only particular hotdogs my stepson eats (it’s a autism thing). As we made our way down the cereal isle towards our chilly destination a gaggle of teenage girls (about 14-16yr old {my daughters age}) appeared at the isle we were trekking down. The entire group had stopped & was laughing hysterically. As we grew closer I couldn’t see who or what was funny but their attention was directed in a very definite location. Between laughs I could make out comments like “He’s so pitiful” and “Oh My God, What a dumbass!”. This naturally drew my full attention. Finally we approached the end of the isle & made our way around the mass of pubescent rambunctiousness. I frantically looked for the object of the girls’ uncontrollable amusement. To my horror, they were deriding a frail elderly man in a electric scooter who was having trouble getting it to move. Upon realizing this was their amusement I saw red.....

2C634EBC-0491-4945-BE34-DC3ED5BBD230.jpeg

Before I continue I would like to note that I am a typically calm & very non-confrontational person. I very rarely raise my voice. When it comes to kids, I am not a strict disciplinarian. I believe conversation, explanation, & meet-able, yet firm expectations work much better than yelling, anger, or spanking.

..After realizing these girls were openly & proudly ridiculing an elders misfortune I could not contain my anger. I quickly launched into a harangue. As I abashed the girls for their grotesque display of incivility, the laughter quickly turned to seriousness and then to shame. While I was indulging my anger, I thankfully saw a woman was already help the elderly gentleman. I finished my diatribe & told the group one last time they should be ashamed of themselves. As I turned to walk away I was greeted by 360° of attentive eyes. The display had garnered an audience who began to applaud. I didn’t realize I was making such a scene. I guess this type of coarseness & unmannerliness are becoming more prevalent. Parents are supposed to set an example & teach children respect, manners, & kindness. People don’t just become terrible out of nowhere. Assholes have to be made and shaped by parents/guardians. I have always tried to be conscious of what I was teaching my daughter & stepson because I want them to grow to be polite, respectful, well-rounded adults. Sadly, it’s becoming apparent that these values are not as important to people anymore & I believe the world will be worse for it.

86AD0FFA-9701-4AAA-B0B6-DFE46558E610.jpeg

0CF089CB-591D-4553-AB04-774A1EB3F076.jpeg

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65