Observing The Mundane

in #palnet5 years ago

Why do we love to watch others going about their daily business?

I've always wondered about this, why we as human beings love to observe each other doing mundane things. It's understandable that we would like to watch a spectacle such as a sporting event or musical concert. What is it that is so intriguing about the mundane everyday things?

000035.jpg

During one of my photo walks in London, I happened upon this scene in Liverpool Street Station. After taking this photo, I paused for what must have been at least 15 minutes just watching this flow of traffic. I just found the flow of people back and forth, going about their daily life, very appealing.

As someone who practices street photography with film, I have to be observant anyway. I have to pause and really take in the scene to ensure it is what I really want to photograph because it costs money. Each press of the shutter is fifty pence or more, depending on what film I have in the camera.

I know I'm not the only one. It's something I've observed regularly. When I'm observing people doing their everyday things, I'm also observing other people observing the same thing. I have no doubt that other people are observing me too. Perhaps they've even photographed me in the process.

On a deeper level, I believe this desire for us to observe others has been well known for a long time. I also think they have been capitalised upon by many entities in the know.

There is another element to it - the observer seeks to be shielded in some way from the observee.

JPEG image 8.jpeg

Have you noticed that in a cafe, the first seats to be occupied, or shall I say the most popular seats, are those right next to a window? Even people that come in a couple or group are still more likely to pick the window seats..

The desire to observe people walking by outside is still there, regardless of company. So, instead of paying full attention to your friend, you're both glancing outside periodically.

I believe cafes and bars realised this behaviour very long ago and many of them have either ensured an adequate number of windows and vantage points in their establishments were put in, or at least created a "people watching" section.

It's basically a feature of any cafe, restaurant or bar you walk into these days - the big window with a bench and sitting stools. It's the reality cinema.

The glass provides the required shield for the observer, and the cups of coffee, or in my case - coffee cup and laptop, provide the excuse to be there watching passers by.

Virtual windows

In the present age of social media, you don't need a train station platform, cafe or bar to people-watch anymore. You can do it from the comfort of your toilet seat at home.

Many still opt to bring the virtual windows to cafes though. I have observed on may occasions, people sitting together at a cafe each looking into their phones instead of at each other.

The smartphone screen is the new window.

Right there on your bed, you can look through this magical people-watching window and observe an unlimited number of digital streets, regardless of geographical location. It's the ultimate itch scratcher when it comes to our innate desire to observe each other's mundane activities. This is why FaceBook and Instagram as so successful.

There is one twist. Now, more than ever, the observee is self aware.

The observer may have achieved maximum shielding from the observed, yes, but the observed is now well ware that they are being observed by someone, somewhere. As such, the observed now puts on a show for the observer. This ironically means that the show is no longer "mundane", thus the evolutionary system is broken.

It's now more faux reality than virtual reality.

Anyway, I need to get back to watching people now.

Thank you for your time,
DT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66