Back after several weeks...

in #palnet5 years ago

This is my first post after HF21/22. Why did it take me so long?

I was on vacation in Slovakia. We were supposed to do a tandem jump out of a plane a few weeks ago. The airport providing such experience is far away from my hometown, so it didn't make sense for us to travel by plane this time and therefore we decided to go by car.

The distance between where we live in Switzerland and my hometown is 1500 km and we planned to stay in Bratislava (midway) for a couple of days to meet our friends and relax before driving for another 6 hours.

One day before the tandem jump I got a call from the instructor that there are some technical issues at the airport and that we won't be able to do the jump as planned. We agreed that we will come in 3 weeks. This didn't sound too bad to me as at that time we would be on the way back to Switzerland so we would visit my cousin who lives close to that airport and after the jump we would continue driving.

We had a great time in Slovakia and after 3 weeks we packed all our stuff and went to my cousin. A few minutes after we arrived (it took us 5 hours to get there) I got a call from the instructor telling me that they realized that the issue wasn't fixed properly and that we are not able to do the jump.

This didn't make me happy at all as we did so much effort to get there and drove for hours and hours instead of taking a plane. We agreed that we will not force it this year as the weather is getting worse and therefore we will postpone it to next year. He wasn't too excited about this, but he had to agree that it wasn't our fault and that he can't expect us to travel from Switzerland just for this occasion any time soon again.

When I explained the situation to my husband the only thing he said was: 'Well, now I won't be able to sleep for another year.' 😊

20190910_1142572.jpg

We usually travel by plane as it's too far away to drive and driving takes too much time, effort and it's not even much cheaper than flying.

But driving to Slovakia has one huge advantage. We can take as many homegrown goodies as we fit in the trunk of our car! 😊 And so we did...

My relatives were very generous, and everyone gave us something from their gardens. We got delicious tomatoes, peppers, kohlrabi, beetroot, garlic, chili peppers, cucumbers and carrots. This is just a sample of what we got as I couldn't fit more in one photo.

DSC_5710.jpg

My aunt invited us for lunch a few days before we left. She made stuffed peppers with her homegrown veggies, homemade ketchup and tomato paste. It was so delicious! She doesn't have children, so she packed many jars for us.

She also gave us her black currant, blackberry and cherry jams. They are all yum!

12.jpg

My mom gave us pickled green beans, mixture of veggies and beans, pickled chilis and pickles.

In total we have 56 jars with various goodies. It looks like we'll have enough summer goodies for winter this year.

DSC_5761.jpg

My aunt gave us some beans from her garden as well. She also makes her own soup mixture (on the right). There are some beans that she bought but most of them are grown in her garden.

DSC_5717.jpg

And this is the most valuable treasure! A huge 5-liter glass jar filled with dried porcini mushrooms that my uncle foraged last year. I will use them in risotto, soups, stews, pasta and more!

DSC_5770.jpg

The trunk was so full that we had to push it down as it didn't want to close automatically.

The way back was much worse than we expected. The last 1000 km took us 13 hours to drive. We expected to do it in 9 hours but there was too much traffic and even an accident in Austria.

I can say that we don't plan to go by car anytime soon but we might reconsider when we need to replenish our stock 😊

I'm looking forward to share with you some of my summer adventures in the next couple of days.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers!
Martina

Sort:  

Hey that's not nice to leave us for so long... even though I'm not active that much on steemit anymore, I still kept looking for some of your wonderful posts Martina!!! :D ... Glad to have you back and happy to see you got some nice goodies on your trip!!!!!!!!!

ps... they don't have castles there??? I have been spoiled you know ;)

Welcome back! It really shows that it's harvest season.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! You are right :)

" now I won't be able to sleep for another year" 😄

Personally, I prefer the car. Enjoy the scenery and slow-mo. And the treats! It's been many many years since I've had home pickled anything. All those mushrooms--the amount of care that went into collecting and preserving those.
Jumping from an airplane can't top that 😇

I do prefer the car too but this is simply too far away. When we visit my in-laws in the Netherlands we always drive and it's around 700 km. But 1500 km is too long and you have to do it over two days if you don't want to be totally exhausted.

I love home pickled veggies! When we go by plane I can only take a few jars so I was happy that this time I could take much more. And now I don't have place to store it at home, lol. Have to figure out how I'll do it...

Thank you for stopping by! :)

😇
Pictures of pickled treats remind me of my grandmother. Nice thoughts.

Totally natural products! They look so great and beautiful colors.

Welcome back ....to a refurbished Steem! 😉

The technical snags during hardfork event were almost like what you practically experienced in your tandem jumps. Hope it will go smooth next year (after a replay of nodes). By then enjoy your goodies!

Hahaha, you are right! It's comparable :) Oh, I really hope that we will be able to do it next year as we were supposed to go last year for the first time but we couldn't due to some health issues so it's going to be the third year of trying :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Welcome back,
Happy life and good food,
Dried porcini and beans are good side dishes or seasonings
!COFFEEA

Thank you for stopping by!

I loved porcini and beans. You can put them in so many delicious meals :)

No páni, tomu teda říkám úroda :) A jak to máš všecko krásně nafocené :D Ani nevím, do čeho bych se pustil dřív, jestli do okurek nebo do džemů :D

A neboj, seskok vám určitě vyjde příště ;)

Ani to nemam kde davat. Zatial to mam v kuchyni na pracovnej doske a rozmyslam ako to skladovat, kedze nemam pivnicu. Manzel mi slubil, ze postavi nejaku policku, aby sme to tam mohli odlozit, tak snad sa k tomu dopracuje :)

Ja by som sa pustila skor do uhoriek, kedze su fakt super. Dzemy pojdu do kolacov :)

Uz to bude treti rok, co prekladame ten zoskok. Minuly rok som mala zapal v lakti, tak sme nemohli ist a tento rok to zas nevyslo. Ale som si ista, ze nabuduci rok to vyjde :)

Ještě že se zavařeniny nezkazí :) Takže má manžel na výrobu police času dost ;) A stihli jste si zajít i na houby? Letos rostou jak šílené :)

Praveze nestihli... ale tak my zas nie sme hubari :) Ja som huby zbierala ako dieta s rodicmi, ale teraz by som si asi netrufla. Na to mam uja, ktory ich nazbiera aj pre nas :)

Welcome back Martina! Oh my goodness, I did not expect this! So much goodies from Slovakia! As I believe everything has a silver lining this one is really huge one, lol. I have to give you a Wonkie Award! 🍅😍🧄
Most Beautiful Fruit & Veggie.png

Yay for the wonkie award!!! :) It's so sweet! Thank you dear Lena!

I'm so excited to have it all at home. Normally I can only take a couple of jars because of the weight of my luggage when I go by plane but this time the only limit was the size of the car trunk :)

Just a few more months and you'll be in Slovakia too :)

My pleasure Dear Martina, well deserved!

And yes, just a few months and my sister will be feeding me with all her homemade goodies from this year harvest. I hope something will be left when I get there in April, lol.

It's a pleasure to see you posting again...we've missed you, and your fantastic photos with narrative.

All those wonderful goodies that you received from your loved ones made me a bit envious!!! :>) No one gives me pickled stuff :>( Guess I'll have to go out into my garden and pick my own beans to pickle?

Hope to see your Slovakia shots soon. Stay well.

Thank you for your kind words! :)

I think you'll have to do that :) I would if I had my own garden here. I'm coming from a farming family so preserving food was something what we were doing all the time. We had large fields full with different veggies. My aunt has just a garden now but it's still too much for her so she is happy to give it away. The funny thing is that she planted chili and she doesn't eat them. She was so excited that she could give all of them to my husband who loves spicy food. And they are really hot!

I'll prepare the first post tomorrow :)

Have a lovely day!

You're fortunate to have learned the art of long term food preparation and storage in these modern times. It is knowledge which may serve you well into the future.

Nice to hear from you Martina; I hope you're well healed from the illness you had.

Looks like you collected a beautiful bounty of fresh homegrown goodness!

I did, didn't I? :) Thank you for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95