You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Censoring visibility is not removing from blockchain, my thoughts

in #palnet5 years ago

Good morning @djennyfloro

Interesting read. I absolutely agree on your view of flags and downvotes. I like that you used word "censors". Somehow many users seem to believe that steemit isn't censored.

However this is how I see downvotes - as a censorship. And the problem is that you can be censored by many different large stakeholders for many different reasons (sometimes without even warning or explanation).

Another problem I see is the fact that thanks to downvotes your pictures will be hidden (for what reason?) and then your post can be "hidden" as well from viewers. So not only rewards are being taken away, but also it affect author in many other ways.

I can only hope that there won't be many people who abuse downvotes (I just got flagged in my latest post with >600k SP). IT's hard to counter those abuses since there isn't much (nothing at all?) that could be done to stop large stake holders who are bad actors (like well known berniesanders) from abusing free downvote pool.

No justice court in the world can protect a child whose photos have been taken and put on the blockchain.

Very true. It's a real issue and I wonder if anyone could ever come up with solution.

Post resteemed. And strong upvote on the way. (please share your publication with us on project hope telegram).
Yours,
Piotr

Sort:  

Dear @crypto.piotr,
Thank you very much for the resteem, and for the answer.
Downvote hiding the pictures could be a solution in case of illicit photos, unfortunately, it's not what it's mainly used for recently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42