25 years without vacuuming

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Source

For those of you who follow my entries in the #secretsoforganplaying contest run by @organduo and @laputis, you will recognise that the organ I do most of my recordings on is the one pictured here. It made the front page of our local newspaper today.

A couple of years ago, a small fire started at the front of the church (suspected attempted arson attack) but it was extinguished quite quickly. However, the soot from the flames got circulated through the air conditioning and has settled into various parts of the organ. After much deliberation, the organ is finally receiving a much needed clean of each individual pipe! This tedious task will take two weeks and then a tuning will be done.

Whilst the organ is in pieces, there will also be preparations for additional ranks—I am excited for when these finally get installed once we raise enough funds. I have a recital on July 16 and I’m uncertain as to whether the organ will be ready at that time. In the meantime, I’m preparing an alternate programme on another organ in the area (subject to approval from the relevant authorities).

In the meantime, my entries for the Steemit Open Mic Contest and the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest will be done on my home studio organ.

Imagine not vacuuming your house for 25 years...! The organ will look and sound amazing once the work is complete. I’m really looking forward to it.

You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

@contrabourdon has set 1.000 SBD bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

That organ looks amazing. Good luck mate!

Lol what an interesting story I wish I could get away with not hoovering!! What a job though!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the title of the newspaper article... Imagine if you decided to vacuum your room after 25 years... Where would you even start, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

What 25 years? That would definately be a great challenge, in the same way I hope you have everything ready for July 16

First, WOW!
I managed an event space that has an old pipe organ in it. It doesn't play yet and we need about $8000 to get it working. :/ So I can only imagine the dust that would have gathered in those pipes as well lol.
next congratulations on getting into the newspaper! that is epic!

Keep up the great work!

@contrabourdon, Hope and wish that this Organ will be ready and on time for the occasion. Stay blessed.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

amo la musica me inspiro mucho tu post un abrazo desde venezuela

I already do not vacuum my house since years. What do you need a vacuum cleaner for?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91