Is anybody on Steem aware of and looking at SQRL by Steve Gibson from the Security Now Podcast?

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

QUESTION FOR STEEM and especially DEVELOPERS: is anyone looking at whether this can solve the identity and log in problems for new users on STEEM?

SQRL is probably the most impressive identity verification and log in technology I've ever seen. It really does eliminate passwords and give websites absolutely ZERO secrets to keep. In some ways, it mirrors the idea of keeping your crypto keys in Steemconnect or Keychain on your own machine, but from a usability point of view it's going to be easier.

Development on the various clients for different platforms is underway and needs to advance a bit in the UI dept, but it really is slick once you get it running.

For instance, I have it running as a parallel login for my comment system in Wordpress (and my admin account too). My blog was amongst the first in the world to add SQRL via a plugin. I could if I wished remove the email address from my main login account though I haven't.

This is a long video about it, or you can see Steve's extensive documentation here.

UPDATE: There is one thing I want to draw attention to. I'm not a dev (well not since my PhD thesis some 30 years ago) but this bit at 1hr 20min would seem to be important. It discusses how a website can store encrypted user data that the website CANNOT decrypt until it sees a login with SQRL. Then it can request temporary decryption and discard the results after they're no longer needed. That seems to me something useful for holding posting and other keys.

SQRL.png

BrianofLondon.me
Brian of London Steem footer inc SUFB logo.png

To join the class action as a member just send an encrypted memo to @jpbliberty saying “Join Class Action” and providing contact details and mentioning @brianoflondon

You can also join up direct on this form from JPBLiberty.

You can help fund the law suit direct via Fundition (paying with Steem or other crypto is a great option). You will receive SUFB Tokens on Steem-Engine. For large donations please contact @JPBLiberty direct.

More details in this post

You can also read a good explanation here on my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49