Holding on (ssp-day9-intermediate)

in #palestine6 years ago

It's been so long since I wrote a #freewrite. I feel guilty for that. My excuse is that I got myself into this 100 days poetry challenge. I'm keeping up very well so far. This is my 9th poem in 9 days😎.

Today I was looking for inspiration. I needed a hint or a prompt to write about, then this genious idea came to my mind. Why not chek my #freewrite family and see what they'll be writing about this time. It wont be a "5 minute" nor a "freewrite" but I hope it will be my ticket back home 😉

I visited @mariannewest 's blog and I was happy to see that this photo by @deadgrlsuppastar is the prompt.

I was a healthy apple tree
In a forest, wild and free
Until the witches came along
casting a spell, it wasn't a song!

most of my branches dried and died
Only one of them survived
But even if they took my fruits
I'm still holding on my roots

The forest wasn't theirs to take
I wonder if the world's awake
Entertained by the genocide
Expecting the forest to abide

The witches cut and burned my sisters
But not their roots, I feel their presence
"One day the witches will be gone"
That's what keeps us holding on.

separation.png

This is my Day 9 of @d-pend's 100 Day Poetry Challenge. You can visit Steemit School on discord if you want to learn more about it.

I don't usually explain where I get my inspiration from, but this time I really want you to understand me so here's a hint 😉
ahed.png

That was "Ahed Tamimi" as a child and as a young woman. Can you see the similarity between this and the prompt?

You can find the original photos here and here

separation.png

Proud Member Of:


GratefulVibesIOW COLOR LOGO.png

Sort:  

Thank you very much for posting this awesome post. And we've opened a steemit lover group. If you want you can join us. Our group work Each member of our group will give an apvote and a comment to each member so you can join May be. https://m.facebook.com/groups/158834444834657?refid=18&ref=bookmarks&

truly, a picture paints a thousand words. I truly appreciate your post focusing on the apple rather than the witch. Loved it.

Thank you @yadah04
There are still beutiful things in this world ^^

Very nice post and interesting photos of a BDS girl getting arrested, it is very sad thay children are involved in this conflict without knowing the true problems.
The poem is very touching. Thank you.

Thank you. I respect and apreciate your honest opinion.

Well I don't think I have the right to judge whether they know what they're doing.. but I know I wouldn't risk my life nor my future for something if I don't understand it.


قرأت انك لم تستخدم التاغ عن عمد :) و فهمت الموضوع
بالرغم من ذلك حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)
** يسرنا اعلامك انه يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت من 0.10 الى 0.40 :)**

First off, never feel guilty about anything having to do with the freewrite. You write when you can and that is it.
Second, thank you for this very moving poem. My heart goes out to all people in the area. On both sides are good people who want a peaceful life - and then there are political powers who don't allow this to happen.
So sad. So many lives lost and ruined.
I am trying to give you a vote - but steemit is more than weird today.

Thank you for understanding :)

I know I wasn't objective about the case. Actually, I can't be objective about it no matter how hard I try. Probably because when a witch burns down a whole forest and then bumps into a tree's root and falls down on her face, I don't say poor witch..

That's me, I can easily pick a side when things look clear to me. But what do I know.. right ? I'm just speaking up my mind ;)

Please don't have guilt over not being able to participate in the freewrites as often as you'd like. Life gets busy and all that and nobody in our group expects anything! 😁
Thank you for your poem and including what inspired you! There is so much sadness to the conflicts, and your wondering about the world being entertained by it all is a bad tasting truth. At least there is hope to hold on to.

Today's prompt is brought to you by the tricky Clurichaun, Briggsy. He's roaming the wine cellars of Freewrite, helping himself to a few bottles and leaving behind a bit of tobacco from his pipe. Sorry folks, he's not known for paying, so don't bother sending a bill!

Freewrite Day 148 - potatoes

Also, don't forget to visit and follow our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Have one of the best compliments I can give you here on this one, my friend, it reminds me of a famous old poem by a master, William Blake's "A Poison Tree" (written in 1974).

Found the original picture of the poem, as it was written to be in an illustrated book, and linked it for you here:

Always excited to come to your page and see what your mind has led you to on the day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34