You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How and Why I Switched from Low Carb to Paleo

in #paleo7 years ago

That part about being so close, yet so far really resonates with me.

Sitting there, trying to do the right thing and so close to doing exactly the right thing, but yet you might as well be a million miles away.

If you had dropped the bread, rice, granola, and reduced the fruit and honey, you probably wouldn't even have had any problems.

Of course the problem is that at the time you didn't see any problem with your diet, you were eating 100% the correct, recommended foods. Nobody sees it before.

Sort:  

Actually, the sicker I got, the more I doubled down on the fruit and rice... because "a vegetarian diet is good for you". Everyone said so. And all the people I talked to about it, including the doctors, (as you probably know), said I was doing the right thing... or accused me of lying because I couldn't be getting sicker and fatter if I was eating like that!

And of course, my cholesterol was high (very high), so I must be sneaking in some cheeseburgers. See... now I'm getting mad again.

When my wife went to the doctor's for her checkup and to get a blood test done, she got weighed by the doctor, and the doctor was all "Oh you're doing very well, I can see you've lost a lot of weight around your face".

My wife said that she was on a keto diet, and the doctor was kinda like nod, not really paying attention or just thinking oh, anther diet whatever.

My wife, trying to get a rise, said "so you're not worried about that at all?"

At which point the doctor paid attention and replied "Oh, what's that?".

"It's a low carb, high fat diet, LCHF."

The doctor was a little confused at first. "Low carb, high protein? I have another patient that does that, although I don't recommend it."

"No, we're on a keto diet which is low carb and high fat", and added "Low carb high protein diets aren't good for you."

"Oh, low carb high fat.", after thinking for a second the doctor adds "No... No, but fat makes you fat", she sounds confused, because she's looking at the chart and my wife's weight has definitely gone down, like a lot. And she looks at my wife again, clearly seeing that she's lost weight and mumbles, "but fat makes you fat."

My wife tries to sit there and explain it to her and the doctor starts glazing over and so she finishes up with "If you want more information, you can go to DietDoctor.com and find out all about it".

The doctor immediately gets a hostile look on her face and says "Oh, Diet Doctor", yup, she's heard about it alright.

I don't know what kind of stories they're telling in the staff rooms at the clinics but I'm guessing it's not that people should be going to DietDoctor.com to get healthy.

My wife went back to get her cholesterol results, but I don't think we'll be going back and seeing that doctor again.

One of my doctors actually quoted that show on TV with the different "doctors" as proof that I couldn't be alive on 10 grams of carb a day. Made me mad enough to spit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74