Taste Test!

in #paleo7 years ago

Eatin115c3.md.jpg

This is the cheesecake I made earlier, with four missing serves.

The verdicts from my family?

Hubby: It was very dry.
Me: The biscuit base definitely needed more butter, and something to make it more... biscuit-y in the mouth-feel. Blitzed almonds or peanuts? Next time, I'll have it.
K: The seeds made it too crunchy.
T: It's bland.

So advice from all of us to all of you: Find or make a better biscuit base, and strain out the seeds if that sort of thing gives you issues.

As for the stew:
Ateitb1c31.md.jpg

PROTIP: Do NOT leave it cooking for 24 hours. Even on 'low'. Don't be a dummins like me and just flipping forget about it.

I didn't get any verbal reviews from this lot, but I do know that it was burned. It has a very bitter, sharp taste and would probably be a bit better with the addition of cream cheese.

However, I also know that someone has had seconds. So... not a complete failure, then.

Both of these foods upped Hubby's blood sugar, so we need to go no-carb for a little bit. Meanwhile, I want to break my fast with some of that cheesecake :9 Even though the base has the fail, the rest of it is nice and tasty.

Also- I am under orders to make my Pumpkin Bolognese a high-fat meal, so look out.

Sort:  

Mmm, pumpkin bolognese - looking forward to that with interest. Wondering what the pumpkin replaces. I'm not that keen on pumpkin myself, unless its mightily messed with, but its a staple vege for @sift666

I'm also wondering if it was the broccoli that wasn't so good in the stew. I put some zizzed up in my breakfast mince that I cook in the crockpot one time, and it ruined it. I had to eat it, but it just wasn't nice. And I usually quite like broccoli. Maybe the same with the cabbage... But we have to try these things. Then we have to report on them...

I'm starting to believe that broccoli is best cooked in butter, and with some melted cream cheese to ooze over the top.

We were in a hurry and ours was not going to last much longer. These things are sent to teach us. [Teach us not to boil broccoli]

Yeah that sounds about right. I steam it till just tender, a little sea salt and a handful of grated cheese, or at the very least a generous amount of butter. But cream cheese sounds very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29