Pumpkin Bolognese

in #paleo8 years ago

PunkinBol65fa4e4.md.jpg
(Serving suggestion)

With any luck at all, I should finish uploading all the pictures for this, today. This is an improvised recipe, so it's not as quantified as my usual stuff, and there's all sorts of side-business, so you might want to take notes.

I started this sordid tale with two Butternut pumpkins (or Squash, as the Americans call them) that had been sitting in our mini-fridge for way too long. So long that they got freezer burns from sitting under the freezer part.

PunkinBol42338d4.md.jpg

We needed to do something with them, and making a form of pumpkin brownie was out of the question because intense effort. So what do I do? I go for more intense effort like the big silly that I am.

First up, cut the pumpkin at the seed ball...
PunkinBol4970521.md.jpg

Then remove the seeds and pith. Scraping motions not captured here, because Hubby was feeling crook, that morning, and had a touch of the Gastro[1]. So I was on my own for a bit. One of these pictures shows a good angle for de-pithing your pumpkin in one neat move.
PunkinBol55df5b7.th.jpg PunkinBol26086fa.th.jpg PunkinBol5811f83.th.jpg

Now chop up your pumpkin into roast-able chunks...
PunkinBol411af2d.th.jpg PunkinBol1302d4b.th.jpg
(Sharp-eyed readers will note that Hubby was able to help me by this point)

Some muscle may be required at the stem part.
PunkinBol207a453.md.jpg
PunkinBol5147742.md.jpg
(If this method hurts too much, you can also lean on the stem and crack the piece that way. Or just mutter, "Buggerit," and roast that piece whole)

And place into trays for roasting:
PunkinBol100e235.md.jpg

Spray with the oil of your choice and season to taste. We used plain salt and pepper with some oregano, because it is going into a bolognese sauce.
PunkinBol67efc1a.th.jpg PunkinBol746fe3.th.jpg PunkinBol61f54b1.th.jpg

Then it's into the oven at 180C or 360F to roast for about two hours or until it smells delicious.
PunkinBol291128f.th.jpg PunkinBol1786edd.th.jpg
As you can see, ours got a little bit scorched, but that doesn't effect the flavour.

Allow to cool, and protect from predators, because you've just made some pretty awesome roast pumpkin. Miss T decided to help herself:
PunkinBol66ab25f.md.jpg
She ate it skin and all! Quite the feat for a young lady who doesn't ordinarily like my home-cooked veggies.

Now you could quit here if you want, those roast pumpkins are just lovely on their own. And I wouldn't blame you, either. But I'm no quitter! I started scraping out the 'meat' of the pumpkin because I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin skins in my sauce.
PunkinBol3a8e33.th.jpg PunkinBol4496f53.th.jpg PunkinBol34e1b50.th.jpg
If you want to mince up the pumpkin skins for extra fibre or eat them as they are, I'm not judging you. Half of my family agrees with your dietary choices. Hubby and Miss T both had a go at the empty, roasted pumpkin shells.

I was going to mash them by hand with a masher or a fork, but then I wised up and remembered I have an electric mixer. We chopped up two blocks of Philly to mix in with our two pumpkins(And softened them in the microwave for a minute). And don't be afraid of mixing on 'high', either. It all looks tough, but it blends up well.
PunkinBol40e444c.th.jpg PunkinBol456eee2.th.jpg PunkinBol1617c58.th.jpg PunkinBol395a620.th.jpg PunkinBol46da6dc.th.jpg

Hubby said he didn't want a sauce you could stand a spoon up in, but...
PunkinBol2761059.th.jpg
...looks like we got one anyway.

Unfortunately, it's also way too thick to be a sauce for anything, so we added a can of pure coconut cream:
PunkinBol1540636.th.jpg PunkinBol52471d0.th.jpg PunkinBol353f5f9.th.jpg

Now, this chunky noise could make a lot of pumpkin butter, a nice spread, or side to whatever you choose to ingest, but I wasn't done! Heck no!

We had some 750g packets of cheap, fatty minced beef, and I thawed out two of them to be part of our dinner. Which Hubby and I fried up in butter. Now, the nice things about Woolies' no-brand butter are (a) cheap!, (b) pasture-fed cattle, (c) completely organic, and (d) they come with these nice little markers so you can know how much butter you're using.
PunkinBol6281377.th.jpg PunkinBol64ab33a.th.jpg

I put 50g of butter in the pot for the mince to cook in. Then I added some essential herbs.
PunkinBol452766.th.jpg PunkinBol47bb993.th.jpg PunkinBol21dec39.th.jpg PunkinBol5996279.th.jpg

Then it was time to cook the mince:
PunkinBol48ea344.th.jpg PunkinBol636150a.th.jpg
Yes, that is the same pot I had pumpkin bits in. I figured that pumpkin was going in there eventually, so why not?

When it's all browned and the mince fat has melted into the butter, add the pumpkin sauce:
PunkinBol6815eaa.th.jpg PunkinBol31a993b.th.jpg PunkinBol22a3a8b.th.jpg

And for heaven's sake, stir it all in CAREFULLY!
PunkinBol18f6c62.th.jpg PunkinBol577309a.th.jpg

Allow to simmer while you prepare your zucchini noodles:
PunkinBol363a85a.th.jpg
(We had a little spill-over)

We have an electric spiralizer, which is cool and all, but we figured we could get more out of our zucchinis by leaving the stem on. Alas, the presser didn't want to dig in to the woody stem, so we had to cut notches.
PunkinBol43d5465.th.jpg PunkinBol258b4aa.th.jpg PunkinBol126bcb3.th.jpg
(As well as cutting the very bottoms off, of course)

We spiralized noodles out of two zucchinis.
PunkinBol20372c.md.jpg

Hubby put 100g of butter into our small non-stick pan and fried up the noodles in two batches:
PunkinBol538c79c.th.jpg PunkinBol1944ae5.th.jpg PunkinBol325534f.th.jpg

And after that was done, he got four eggs and a mixing bowl, whisked them together and had me add salt and pepper. Then he put that in the fry-pan as a sort of blank omelette.
PunkinBol2438ea4.th.jpg PunkinBol23b791e.th.jpg PunkinBol3328af9.th.jpg PunkinBol5407a36.th.jpg

I had no idea what he was up to when I took this picture from my last blog entry:
PunkinBol1493277.md.jpg

Then Hubby split the omelette into four, and added it to our plates.
PunkinBol280c06a.md.jpg

Reviews from the household:
Hubby: Lovely sauce (had seconds of the sauce)
Me: I wanted more noodles (had seconds of the sauce)
K: Too sweet
T: (scoffed the lot and grabbed seconds of the sauce)

The sauce was the only survivor of the evening. The remainder, after seven helpings, was two and three-quarters rectangular take-out boxes full of pumpkin-y deliciousness. Which means we just have to spiralize and fry more zucchini noodles the next time I'm having a low-battery day. You could plausibly freeze portions of the sauce for later, but it may wind up tasting 'green'.

[1] Note for Americans and other people who don't understand Strine: Gastro is short for Gastroenteritis and has come to mean, "any gutsache that comes with a side of The Trots." This has been your education in TMI.

Sort:  

Hello @krazdang,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

You need to translate for this kiwi too! What do you mean by tasting green? It sounds like a sauce that would freeze ok.

I've found that, regardless of the ripeness of the pumpkin... once you cook it and freeze it and thaw it again... it tastes like you used green pumpkins. Like, just on the verge of being ripe, kind of green.

I don't know why this happens, it just does. Maybe it's my personal sensory issues at play. I don't know.

Your mileage may vary.

I guess I've never tried freezing cooked pumpkin. But will bear that in mind if I'm ever tempted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48