You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Healthy Hot Cocoa Recipe

in #paleo7 years ago

I have some of that chocolate in my cupboard, but never got round do figuring what to do with unsweetened chocolate (usually just use raw cacao powder).

For my daily smoothies, I usually use homemade cashew milk, raw eggs, Great Lakes collagen hydrolysate (snap), raw cacao powder, maybe 1/2 a frozen banana for a bit of sweet and some other supplements like lemon flavoured cod liver oil, liquid B vits and mineral drops!

I personally don't categorise agave as paleo, as it's dangerously high in fructose, but all good with the rest! Whatever floats your boat.

Sort:  

Hi there! In my smoothies I use unsweetened cacao powder too, but that unsweetened chocolate elevated my hot cocoa to another level of amazing!

I love cashew milk, and we go through a lot of almonds and cashews around here. Your smoothies sound lovely (and familiar :o) Frozen raspberries, strawberries, and okra find their way into a lot of my smoothies. I know the frozen okra might inspire a initial yuck response, but in a chocolate smoothie 1/4-1/2 cup does something nice to the texture, doesn't taste bad, and adds a ton of health benefits. Just have to blend the life out of it, no chunks allowed!

And I hear you on the agave, I personally don't eat it or any other sweetener for that matter with the exception of the two mentioned in my post, but I thought I'd throw it out there for consideration.

Thanks for the comment!

My problem with chocolate is that I tend to get a bit addicted, but seem to be fine with the cacao. I'm being a bit stricter at the moment to break some Xmas patterns, but am keen to try your recipe soon.

We don't have okra in New Zealand - or at least I've never noticed it. We sometimes use avocado for the same purpose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38