You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From my old blog: Paleo diet + Buddhist Philosophy; Meat versus the First Precept

in #paleo7 years ago

Thanks for this piece. I'm Buddhist and pescatarian, which I've been for longer than I've been Buddhist. I more or less agree with you. Since becoming pescatarian, I also have done some veg farming and learned that indeed it is impossible to grow food without killing or harming other beings. And additionally, the cycle of life and death is what keeps ecosystems functioning. It's the sad reality of samsara. So I kind of use my food growing as a lesson in renunciation.

For those into the more religousy aspects of Buddhism, you can pray for the person who slaughters your meat (and of course the animal too), wishing that their karma is purified, or that the negative karma they generate ripens upon yourself so as to free them from this burden. :)

Sort:  

Thanks for the comment. I lack the 'religousy' side of Buddhism So have to reconcile with reasoning that essentially matches your point on samsara.

I may post a few more times along these lines to learn from your perspective. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30