Coconut Butter Bread

in #paleo8 years ago (edited)

I miss ham sandwiches. Actually, ham and cheese with lettuce and tomato covered in lots of mustard and hot sauce.

tcjnccq9bV7iEwRfZV_oi2AzURi9g3aIyDkWlJa_YRfkrd2ShvF6mHRbUJcHqmNvxL1U-Abf0LM7QnEosQyfCsvzDCEmkgGhu9yOh54fFKT25DJy5RdBqIKsJWv8Ssl9mzYQ0bTKJCKkoWWafrw_uN2gO6oYh-6B_Te32D3weQ7aMjPs6K0l80G-e1LVmfwL5eT56bc6.md.jpg
I mentioned that I use a few "Fat Bombs" to keep myself in the ketogenic range of Paleo eating. One of them is a kind of biscuit-like pan bread made from coconut butter (manna or creamed coconut) and eggs. The way I've been making it for years is to mix an egg with about an egg's worth of coconut butter (works out to be about three tablespoons) and add some olive oil or butter, then drop it in the pan. It makes a nice addition to breakfast, has very few carbs that aren't insoluble fiber but is absolutely loaded with the good fats I want. I've been having this a few days a week for years.

But last night, I remembered that my recipe came from a way of making a loaf of bread. I never once used it to make an actual loaf, because the pan bread was quick and easy. Not good for ham and cheese sandwiches, but easy.

Well... screw that. I want a ham sandwich, I'm making a loaf of bread. So I did. It turned out nice, but I think the recipe needs a little adjustment, and I was short on coconut butter.


8lck9U5T65MayO3Js4bWzOmXIyDuLZ11CVIx1AKDy0364--XC1G_SYEI8qBF7LQqbFaAMwaiw76lI1B0T3HfEcBHLGfZuIa-O1u6KgJs3cZeKrQN5c1oEOnkTSwhbHXNbhyeo4bPlGkmrtZQbb9PEOF_N880BQtnD10DbsKe3exV4ulMgeEcswR_nnfYbL0sTRPdda1d.md.jpg

Here's what I did, with possible improvements in parentheses

I had about 1 and 1/8 cup of coconut butter.
Multiplying up and rounding down and dividing out that means I should have about 5 or 6 eggs.
(Six might have been better)
I had some nice grass fed butter so I used it instead of olive oil, melted, about 1/4 cup.
Not shown here, I also put in about a tablespoon of bacon fat.

Mix the manna, eggs and fat thoroughly, then add about a tablespoon of double acting baking powder and quickly mix that well. In case you don't know, double acting baking powder makes CO2 bubbles two ways, one by mixing with water, and the second by getting warm. You want both of these actions so try not to blend the first bubbles out like I did. It should be gloppy but smooth.

sqZA-INP_BA9wEQkXfLfXp3mrZYMEjxZ6Ewi2o8y1OXipcyHvGRrqTr3mte5NsGPqkTwKQEklc0vF8vF3Zi1ukmPQvJJjcy6JIaN1acS9CDD9FF5F0vg7XhPXq92cCh0pRMJrSmaS_ZAuVC5Z49Dm1ldw1g55Ub5rT2xi6pknEj8dDmsSKG0S55WV0FhLosBGwBed4ee.md.jpg
Pour it in a pre-oiled bread pan (or casarole dish, which is all I had) and put it in the oven (which I forgot to tell you to preheat to 325) for 40 minitues or so. I used a bamboo chopstick to test, then toasted the top with the broiler.

I looked up the ingredients at the USDA site and added together all the values for macronutrients and this is what I got with some fudge factor.

210 fat
50 carb (25 fiber)
32 protein

So it looks like I'll get about 20 slices or ten servings so let's call it 20 grams of fat, 3 carbs and 3 grams of protein. It's a beautiful bread with a nice texture, very buttery the way I made it and could have been made spicy like Italian bread. Next time I might increase by 50%
LOsivJcmSaSuXe_8fuINkdGHf8_YqgTmCRGbfroVaZxUjdaL6D62inivGNkTkWgoNXGexCu6fufRD7grkVxSqL61X6cYTeBpV_bqIMyibOng10KN730qW5BbihkIs7Kt7FNF5n2O22kyAxx4v_wbXlbJyk3ypB1kJmeHbTWXpBND2IkeVXczSMb0gdwp4mBcv1i706bd.jpg


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
Please try my Future History stories - Enmity

Sort:  

Hello @baerdric,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Looks good. I might make a loaf, later on.

One problem though... how much double-acting baking powder?

Ah... I guessed at half a tablespoon
Dang, I meant to point that out in the photograph, but then didn't use that photo... Thanks, I'll edit.
But really, it could use more, maybe a full tablespoon. Yeah, more like six eggs and a full tablespoon.

Yum! I think I'll probably make some too. I hope it turns out well. I often have problems with the mixture rising enough. Wonder if it just needs more baking powder or something.

I'll have to check if the baking powder I use is double acting or not.

Wow, what an interesting way to make 'bread'! Looks good!

Thanks! It's very satisfying when you want bread. Taste and texture is just like you want.

Experimenting in the kitchen is always fun! I'm hoping to make some lemon, coconut protein bars today...

Yes. I just have to be careful not to tempt myself into veering too far away from my goals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77