My acrylic painting "Be my Valentine"

in #painting7 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

Power saving weekend:
You have probably noticed that it was no activity on our blog over weekend, recently due to many upvotes that we do a day by day, our Upvote power was down to 40, if we would continue then it would drop even lower, therefore, we decided that we will have a weekend off, just for power saving 48 hours. That means my dear friends there will be no upvotes on weekend. We are sorry for this step but it was a necessity.

So back to this weekend, the good thing about that is free time from Internet and cyberworld we can spend more time with our family, be outside and also to do something at home.


My weekend painting

As to us, we had our relatives including my little niece, she loves to be a guest and have all attention to herself. As our son is teenager he has not much interest to entertain her. Therefore, I thought to spend time with drawing or painting with her.

First of all, when we were thinking what we will use, she already made a verdict, graphite pencils (my favorite tools) are too monotone and boring, pastel sticks too „dusty“ and she needs to clean the fingers every now and again, for watercolour is too pale, I did not offer oil colors as we have to have good ventilated room for that. Therefore, what left was acrylic colors, she was happy with that, as to me, it was very long time ago when I use them for my painting of sail and not since then. They are quite easy to handle, bright colors, you do not need any water or thinner to work with.

So acrylic colors and watercolor paper. Now we only needed a topic, but it was not a big deal, my niece new exactly, she wanted a painting for Valentine‘s day. She heard that her mum was excited about that and she saw much stuff dedicated to that day in shop, that is why her conclusion was that is a Woman‘s day. But she was very curious who is the Valentine. Of course me, your humble servant, had to explain but I also needed to search in internet and that how I explained:

A long ago during Romans time, there was a cruel Emperor who had a strong and mighty army of soldiers. He wanted his soldiers to devote themselves only to Rom and Emperor and it was not allowed to marry. The soldiers were very sad and lonely, therefore, one day a priest called St.Valentine felt sorry to those soldiers and began to marry them in secret Christian ceremonies, since then he was known as a believer in importance of Love. But when the cruel Emperor found it he jailed him, but imprisoned Valentines cared for other prisoners and his jailor‘s blind daughter, who he cured and fell in love with. In his message to her he signed with:

„from your Valentine“

The day of 14th of February is the day of St. valentine‘s execution, but in memory about the St. Valentine act for love and against the mighty Emperor, we celebrate as the day of Love and people in Love.

My niece loved the story very much, so we decided to do a painting of course there should be children and of course she wanted to do some painting too. I was not really optimistic that our collaboration would work or not but at the end both of us were very satisfied with the result. So we divided the tasks between us, the sketching was my part. As to coloring, she was keen to do background and left me to do the children, as she explained that she could not work with fine brush, she prefers the large one.

We called it: „Be my Valentine“

a1DSC01641.JPG

Here are few process photos:

DSC01637.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC01638.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC01639.JPG

Trenner groß.png

Here are all the tools used: my favorite palette knife, the colors and palette:

a1DSC01642.JPG

Trenner groß.png



a611DSC01039.jpg


scot1a.jpg


Thank you for viewing my post and I hope you enjoyed it.

No activity on weekend-Power charging on Weekends

Thank you in advance for your understanding!

Sort:  

Какой очаровательный сюжет выбран для картины) мне очень нравится!

Спасибо, такие милые моменты нельзя не запечатлить

very beautiful painting. love it! Love the wormth it has within.

Thank you very much, have not thought that the result would come out like that. On initial stage I was even thinking just leave it as it is, but glad that I finished it.

Awww ! Such a sweet painting composition . Love is in the air !! The emotion of pure and innocent love is so palpable, @stef1 :)

And yes I agree that a break, from time to time, from posting and upvoting benefits everyone . In fact an organised posting and upvoting helps ... That is a very relevant information you shared :)

Thank you, that was enjoyable weekend work, really happy you like it!

I loved it ! ... Happy Valentine, @stef1 ! May the blessings of love always shower upon you and your family :)

Gorgeous art! Congrats!

Thank you, I am glad to hear your opinion!

Fantastic work! I love it!

Thank you very much for visiting my post and I am glad to hear you like the painting

Ваша картина великолепна, простите, что я так редко заходи на Ваш блог в последнее время. Удачи вам и добра.

Спасибо, рада за Ваши теплые слова

Very Beautiful and cute also, Love the theme perfect matching :)

Thank you @theia, I find it also very cute

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44