From trash to treasure: the magic of paint

in #painting7 years ago (edited)

transform.jpg

So I did something recently that I have not done since last summer, and that is renew a piece of furniture! This is the 2nd of 2 that I did for a friend in trade for a custom Punisher action figure. This dresser is for his daughter.

divider.png

Lets start at the beginning

trash.jpg

This piece was given to them/or found (I don't remember) but either way it probably was one of the most ugly pieces of furniture I have seen. Whoever had it before tried to paint it vomit green, and the previous coat of red was showing through which just made it look like bloody vomit. Also each drawer had a different piece of ugly wallpaper stuck inside it ... not fit for a little girl obviously


The first step was covering up the hideousness with some linen white rustoleum chalk paint. I love using chalk paint because it requires little to no prep. You need to clean the surface, and are good to go in most cases. Usually 2 coats will cover anything you need, 3 if its bad. The parts I was going to paint pink, I only used one coat, and the parts remaining white got 2.

After base coat it makes it easier to identify some of the imperfections in the wood, I use putty to fill the larger ones in.


Next I taped off the top with painters tape for a nice crisp line/edge, and painted the top and drawers pink.

Last I used a clear wax finish to protect it since it is going in a kids room. It goes on paste looking, but dries clear.

divider.png

drumroll please

The finished Product!

treasure.jpg

monsterfooter.jpg

Sort:  

wish I was good with my hands like dat. And you also got a floating h1 tag in your last title familia.

You know I gotchu! I haven't been in chat in a minute.. Gotta get back and talk more music

what you think of the black panther soundtrack? I feel like Kendrick killed it man.

That's all I been playing around my way! It was phenomenal -- King's Dead..

Nicely done. It looks much easier when you don't have to sand the whole thing down first.

Did you supply the dresser and paint job for the action figure?

They supplied dressers. I supplied paint and the work

nice job . refinishing quality furniture is the way to go . last forever
what are you going to use for the seat on the chairs . they look sturdy

Ah, I have seats for them, the just need to be cleaned up and re-upholstered

I have always thought people who can do this are cool because you can renovate anything to whatever you want it to be. Where I come from we rely on carpenters for everything and excellence is expensive. Your work is excellent! :)

"So, what color would you like me to paint this?"

"Hmmmmm...How about something that reminds you of bloody vomit?"

Refinishing and flipping furniture is one of my favorite things to do. I love it!

looks really cute with the color choices :) you did a great job!

Thats great
Seems you are very good at furniture making
Good job

Yes, the colour is not suiting to the eyes, in my opinion the last owner of this furniture loves unique green colour, but you have done amazing restoration of colour and you made an perfect furniture which is reflecting eye-catching and for sure it will become friend of children because colour is so soothing. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

That one looks like new! The girl is gonna love it!

But wait, no steemit wallpaper sticker inside the drawers? :(

Nice! I love DIY stuff. I just put together an Ikeo stool and hot glued a wooden circular painting I had to it to make a little table. I just need to varithane the wood to protect it. I have a few DIY projects. It's so much fun seeing something transform into something you love ;)

Beautiful drawer set. And because it's pink, it's Rosie approved.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66