Babies! Toddlers!: Sketches and a Painting

in #painting6 years ago

Babies!!
2 sketches of my sleeping baby from 2011, done while she was napping in a car seat, garbed in a bunny like Onesie.

2015JAN 003.JPG
2015JAN 004.JPG

Another of her as toddler pointing to an apple core (gosh i wish i could remember why, she was saying something PROFOUND in the way that little kids do sometimes. Maybe asking me if the seeds were baby apples? It is likely that I wrote it down somewhere.)

2015JAN 014.JPG

Sketch of a friends lovely daughter

2015JAN 011.JPG

Concluding with the Child in Blue, also of my little love.

2015JAN 010.JPG

This painting marks the painting turning point of my life. It started off badly. I sketched it all out with a brush only to step back to see one eye an inch or more higher than the other. All the proportions were wildly off. However, acrylics are very forgiving. ( They dry fast and then you can paint over. ) The key is not dwelling TOO long on how much it sucks and to keep going.
This small 9''x12'' painting took 6 hours. 4 years later I am confident I could complete it in 2. Maybe less, since i know her face so well. I love this painting for many reasons, especially as the 1st time painting started to make sense. That success feeling! woo! But, I hadn't picked up a brush in 3 years- so why suddenly? It is my theory that the daily struggle and responsibility (I didn't have much before) of being a single parent grew my art brain. I hardly had time for sketching either. Though, I thought about it a lot, drawing with my eyes. You don't need hands free for that.
I heard once that thinking about working out has like a 10% effect of actually working out. something like that. Say you are unmotivated, lazy or busy, just imagine you are doing what you want to be doing.
I didn't read that last part I just . yeah
I did that a lot

~Fin!~

Sort:  

Sorry I missed the opportunity to upvote this... Just didn't see it until just now...

Good stuff and this blue painting is completely WOW!

Thank you for describing your process... I find it inspiring and helpful...

Thank you for sharing! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86