Fracture

in #painting7 years ago


Watercolor/white ink/tempera/sea salt/rosemary/liquid glue - Fracture in space

Blank sheet of paper. No plan. No idea. Just play with colors. Mix, bleed and spice it up with salt and rosemary fusion. Salt melts, reacts and collects the color. Suddenly it turns into crystallized strange universe. Lonely in the middle of whiteness turned into pure, glazed darkness. Something's missing, something's not right. One step from making it right or ruining it. Give up? Keep going. What is it? Stars...


It is ridiculous to think that I almost gave up on this one and how simple conversations with friends sometimes is all you need get the ball rolling again. Thank you for giving me a nudge.


My creation process is messy. It is probably like observing tornado passing with all the tools and paints scattered all over the place with me in the center. Those are behind the scenes that are supposed to stay behind the scenes. Also not fan of step by step revealing of processes. Too ugly to share.  


Song of the day: Kendrick Lamar, SZA - All The Stars 

Sort:  

This is so beautiful! Also, how parts of the painting reveal themselves to you as you paint. I always enjoy that during the process.
I had heard of salt with watercolours but had forgot and never really tried. Thanks a lot for the reminder! 😊👍

Thank you @art.life!

Yes, I definitely enjoy the discovery part of the process. Sometimes it is really surprising.

Salt creates very interesting, sparkly effect :)

Bursts out in laughter by the word "nudge"

^^
I was waiting quite impatiently for this post, I have to admit.

hugs

Kurmīša constellation. Haha!

Thank you!

Hug is exactly what I needed right now. ^^

Salt and watercolour always creates magic. And that's what this painting looks like! Magical.

Thank you so much @manouche! I added the salt and left it to dry. I totally did not expect the effect it created. It was like wow this is cool :)

You were right not to give up on this! :)

Where did you use the rosemary?

Thank you @lindiry :)

Since it is mixed together with sea salt it was used in the areas affected by salt. I think a bit of green of rosemary also created some green/dark shaped shadows.

cuddle_teddy2.png

Thank you for your cuddles @cuddlekitten! Cuddles to you too little furry bot! Meow.

I see this is exactly when you can make a distinction between creative people and non creatives.

Just look at how cool this is, and that without a plan even! Non creative people like me cant do these kinds of things without plan (correction: we cant make these kinds of things at all hahahaha)

I LOVE it! Also the use of different material what the add up together. Very cool. I hope you put it on a wall or sell it at least ;)

It's beautiful!. The background image looks like a milky way. Don't know what is in front. It looks like a cloud, I don't know what is astrophysicists called it. Whatever is it, it's giving life to the painting.

Thank you. :)

I considered mixing some color in the stars as well, but it would have been too much with the fracture being colorful already.

Una mezcla distinta a las demás, sin palabras

Gracias :)

Para eso estamos :D

Its a sea in the Milky Way. A sea killed by fossil fuel or some other pollutant. Dying world in my eyes. Nice

I actually saw more positive picture there. The colors of the fracture remind me of lilacs :)

Although accidentally and just by chance @m31 do the painting. I am sure, in your picture this is implied by its own meaning.
thank you @m31 have shared your story with me

Thank you for stopping by @harrycan! It was surprise for me too how it actually worked out.

You'r welcome @m31

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79