Painting "Safari Elephant's March" Tutorial

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

Hello Party Animals!! Here's another quick tutorial of how I created a painting that I'll use for my Paint Party classes. I'm starting my own mobile business where I go to the venue of my client's choice to teach them how to paint while they eat & drink. I make a time lapse video that you can find on Dtube & Youtube. I also livestream many of my work. Check out my “Art for lunch” sessions in the afternoon. You can go ahead & join me next time at twitch.tv/2maarte & Youtube - goo.gl/SktkER.

During lunch or around the afternoon, I create or recreate an image that I illustrate. This is something that I’ve been doing for fun so why not record & let everyone see how I do it. 😄

Here's a quick tutorial of this adorable mom & baby elephant.

IMG_3174.JPG

But first, watch the time lapse video.

STEP 1: Gather your art supplies. Make sure to have a blank canvas, a cup of water, papertowels, art brushes of different sizes, paperplate, and acrylic paints. You just need the primary colors - red, blue, yellow, black, and white.

STEP 2: Use the big brush. On your canvas, create the background with a mix of streaky colors. Start with Red on the top of your canvas. Then Yellow on your way down, then White at the bottom. It's okay to have left over colors when using the white. You would want streaks to have that sunset effect.!

IMG_3158.JPG

IMG_3159.JPG

IMG_3160.JPG

STEP 3: After the background is somewhat dry, start outlining the the ground with your small brush & black paint. Then fill it in with black.

IMG_3161.JPG

IMG_3163.JPG

Step 4: Rinse your small brush thoroughly. Start outlining the clouds with white paint and fill it in. You can create clouds by making circles or half circles with dabbing & lightly streaking (like you're trying to scrape away the paint on your canvas).

IMG_3164.JPG

Step 5: Rinse your small brush thoroughly. Start outlining the tree with black paint & fill it in. Create a lot of branches.

IMG_3165.JPG

IMG_3166.JPG

Step 6: Create the leaves by dabbing your small brush to the ends of each branch. Add more inside & outside the tree with your small brush & black paint.

IMG_3169.JPG

Step 7: Start outlining the elephants & fill them in with your black paint.

IMG_3170.JPG

IMG_3172.JPG

And we're done. Yay!

IMG_3173.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52