Toothpick Painting - A Tree

in #painting7 years ago

This was my first experiment in toothpick art. I was just making it up as I went along, so you can tell the lines - especially in the wind - aren't straight or even put together well.
But I thought I'd play around and see if I liked the result. I did. All the tiny dots coming together to make a whole image is quite satisfying to me. (My photography is terrible - sorry about the washed-out look.)

toothpick tree.jpg

Sort:  

Wow !! That's pretty cool. How long did it take You ??

Thanks! That one more than likely took about 20 hours. But I go slower when I don't have a template or a plan to work off of. Usually I sketch the piece out in pencil and paint over that - it's a little quicker that way.

How did you learn to paint with a toothpick?

I honestly don't remember why or how I thought of it. When I was painting rawhide rattles, I realized that I liked very small, detailed painting (or small, detailed anything for that matter). And my hands shake too badly to paint on that scale with a brush. So I guess I just looked for another way to be able to get it down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66