The Surrender of Sleep: an oil painting on the India theme

in #painting7 years ago

I remember I was on the train to Bhubaneswar, in the state of Orissa (India), and the train was advancing at a snail's pace, making stops at each small town. Sitting across from me was this lady with her baby, both fast asleep.

I thought the composition made by the contrasting positions of her and her baby was so interesting, and finally worked it into this painting. The abstract section on the right evokes the world of their shared sleep.
surrender-web.jpg

Sort:  

I love the colours! So cool 0.0

Thank you. Color still fascinates me and I continue to explore its possibilities.

Dear Artist @kathleenscarboro ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Please help me

Nice creative painting and artistic work you have, it seems to me that you are an artist. You certainly have a great talent. Great job

Thank you. Yes I have given my life to painting and still enjoy it after all these years.

I love that the light falling on their faces originates from their dream world. A dreamworld should be a place where anything is possible, where a child can imagine the impossible and seek to make it reality. Lovely

Thank you. I love to paint people who are sleeping; there is such authenticity in their expressions.

This is amazing wow...the detail and blending of colors is absolutely superb

Thank you. The technique of blending colors to make the drapery, faces, and the rest was taught me by a fabulous art teacher many years ago.

My wife is also a painter and quite good she would
Absolutely love this also. You must have been a wonderful predecessor;)

I had a most amazing teacher who I met at art school in 1969. He remained my teacher until his death a few years ago. He taught me oil glazing and how to make my own medium and emulsion.

This is just beaaaaaautiful, @kathleenscarboro! The colours and lighting are wonderful and the body languages of the woman and the child are captured so well * ___ * And, omg the fabrics * ___ *

Love this!

upvotes and resteems

Thanks @veryspider. I do love drapery! And painting people.

Resteem to 700+ Follower . Send 0.150 SBD or 0.250 STEEM to @music-curation ( URL as memo ) Service Active

Done! Hope your followers like it!

My gosh, this is SO beautiful. You've captured all the colours of the Indian landscape perfectly. And the way I can see the reflection in the mirror, is fantastic. Were you travelling 3 AC? This one is special. I love it.

I was traveling on a cheap train with wooden benches! Still loved the trip. Glad you like the painting.

I asked if you travelled 3 ac because i thought I saw glass-like reflection from the window. I just looked closer and I saw the thin bars that come in the sleeper class. Gosh, the detail is amazing.

I try to travel in ac when I can, but this time those trains were not available, which created the possibility to see this lovely lady and her baby.

this post was given a resteem under resteem services

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65