So I’ve been working on some poster studies for my next self portrait.

in #painting6 years ago

So I’ve been working on some poster studies for my next self portrait.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

Today in this post I thought I’d give a sneak peek on what I’ve been working on lately.

Yesterday was quite an intensive day! With my studio space setup, photographic references, and preliminary compositional drawings I eventually was able to flesh out some design issues and color schemes.


So here is a couple of shots of a poster study for an upcoming self portrait I finished yesterday.

As to the specific color palette I’ll be using, I’m still not sure at this stage but I do believe I’m heading in the right direction.

Typically as with most of my work, I would start with a clear and calculated transfer drawing before any paint touches the surface.

But in this particular instance I am sensing more of an amorphous approach to this future painting.

This perspective I think is best because I am after a sort of an idealization rather than relying on cold observation.

..I can’t wait to see how this is going to unfold!


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Click here to subscribe to my artist’s newsletter

Ebay

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Wow your self portrait, will be really good, looks like it is developing into something amazing.

@worldtraveller32 Thank you so much! :)

Very lovely beginning of your next self portrait, James ! Loving the hues and lighting so far :)

@veryspider Thank you :) I'm definitely exercising my chiaroscuro muscles.

Cool work @jameszenartist! I like the style of self portrait!

I really like on-the-process posts like this one, in which you all explain how it is going, the expectations and even the turn-outs so common in art! it's a really beautiful thing to see and appreciate :)
this post will be proposed to be curated by the @celfmagazine project

@ailindigo Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it :) But yes, if there is any way I can offer what I've been taught, I'll do so as much as I can.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jameszenartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76