PIXELATION PAINTING - A TRADITIONAL DRUMMER

in #painting7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170711_000537.jpg
This is to hoping that am not too late for the second day of the @merej99 10 post challenge... Mehn.....schoolwork is hectic...

This post which would serve as the second entry for @merej99 competition is about how to make a pixelation painting of a any still life of your choice....

Before I go on, note everything is done is by hand.. Lemme give a brief description of some terms...

Pixelation : In pixelation, what you aim to do is to create a design that is represented in such a way that looks the artwork look like it is actually broken down into pixels. This can be seen when you actually zoom an image too much; when it gets to a stage, the work looks blurry and you could see it in little little squares. That what we basically aim do to do when we render pixelation painting by hand...

The following are the steps involved in pixelating a traditional drummer picture...

STEP 1
This involves choosing a still of your choice....
Screenshot_20170708-165129.png

STEP 2
After selecting a picture, it is printed on an A3 paper. After which a square grid of half centimetres is ruled all over the paper.
IMG_20170711_000601.jpg

STEP 3
The next step is to trace out the picture following the half centimetres on your stretched paper (made a post on how to stretch)

STEP 4
This is were the painting process begins... The three primary colours were used in accomplishing this artwork...
IMG_20170709_143300.jpg

STEP 5
The painting process continues.... One has to be careful in the application of the different colours to their appropriate places. This is done until the work is finished... IMG_20170709_184248.jpg
IMG_20170710_014015.jpg
IMG_20170711_000543.jpg

This piece really gave me a tough time...
P. S. @merej99.... Done and dusted

.............................................................

Currently a student at the University studying art as one of my specialization. Art. Poems. Books. Life

Sort:  

😲😲😲 Woooooooooooow.

#smiles...... Even me the artist keeps saying the same word.. @erangvee

Wow it's so much work to do these by hand! Bravo!

I don't think my hands would ever forgive me again @juliakponsford

You should treat yourself to some carpal tunnel exercises :)

If I may ask @juliakponsford..... What are carpal tunnel exercises...

They're just good stretches for your wrist if you are doing repetitive motions it's not healthy! Look on YouTube there 're lots of videos demonstrating how to do them. You need to take care of your wrists they do a lot for you!

Noted.. Wow definitely check it out... Really appreciate the advice

I should probably do some now as well I've been on the computer all day and I can feel it aching a little!

@juliakponsford.... Just saw your art competition.... This post could actually serve as an entry into the competition right since it all about squares....

Sure go for it, I'm allowing two from each person if you would like to contribute something else as well!

Yeah... Will definitely contribute something else

Wow! This is amazing, congratz!! 👏🏻
I think you could find useful some parts of the technique my girlfriend uses for her works. I post them in my blog, also with some of the finished works. Hope you can check them out! Keep it up!

Thanks so much... Would definitely visit your blog to check out some of the the works... @nachinsen

This is awesome!! I like the pixelated look - never thought of it as art before; I really like it. How long did it take you to complete?

It took me approximately 7 - 8hours @jannell

Wait a minute!!! I know I came by with an upvote and a comment on this. What the what! I love the subject that you picked to paint and your final piece is really cool! With the technique of using the graph, I'm reminded of a tutorial that @chessmonster shared a while back.


I am simply stunned by the amount of patience it takes to create fine works.

Art is classic example of the adage, 'the patient dog eats the fattest bone'.... For you to study art, you have to have a passion for it... So while working, the hours just fly by...

Really motivational and instructional video.... Am a watercolour lover... Planning on dabbling with it

@chessmonster does amazing work. I like that "the patient dog eats the fattest bone" I've been so long away from any kind of art instruction that I can appreciate the processes that our artists share. I always ask questions about materials/supplies and technique. I just love to learn. :)

That why I think it is highly important artists post the work process or the step by step guide to their work so as to enlighten more people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58