Throwback to 2012: My Largest Painting on Canvas Yet

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

If there's any kind of ongoing theme to my work, it's that I'm always challenging myself. As an undergraduate, there was no exception. My junior year after painting for four years at this point, I decided I wanted to go big. At 48"x60", I built and stretched the canvas with the help of some friends and faculty! As for the content, I was having fun playing with scale with the figure in environments. For this concept I settled on a giant grocery shopping . . . or normal-sized person in a tiny grocery store. However you see it! That's part of the fun!

2012 mom and me grorcery painting.jpg
My mom and I posing with the finished painting.

I started with staging photos to use as my reference. My friend, Katie, had helped me before for a photography project and offered to model for this painting too! I brought my camera and met at to a grocery store to start the photoshoot! I got a photo of her leaning over pretending to push a tiny cart, and I had to get down low to get this specific perspective to make her appear larger. I also got some shots of the grocery aisle with a standard cart, and I PhotoShopped them together to create my composite reference.

IMG_5273.JPG

IMG_5245.JPG

To Print.jpg
Composite Reference

Such a sense of accomplishment making this canvas. I learned SO much that week!

4x6 canvas hyvee.jpg

I sketched it out and got to work! I filled in my shapes, general to specific, using acrylics first and moving to oils once I had a better sense of my placement and values. Here are the process photos I took using an old phone. Can't believe it's been six years! So much trial and error. Such a learning process!

IMAG0589.jpg

IMAG0600.jpg

IMAG0627.jpg

IMAG0672.jpg

IMAG0701.jpg

IMAG0758.jpg

IMAG0809.jpg

IMAG0963.jpg

with anthony.jpg
My little brother checking out my printed photo reference vs the finished product.

The grocery store where I took my references bought it for their store! One of my first sales!

HyVee painting.jpg
My sister posing at HyVee.

I also got an A! Woohoo!


Looking forward to the day when I have the time and resources to embark on another large painting like this! I do have some pretty large abstract landscapes coming at you guys soon, though! One 36"x48" commission in the works now. Stay tuned!

in progress.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

Hello @christiesnelson, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97