David Bowie Tribute: Acrylic + Oil Painting

in #painting6 years ago

I've done a number of tribute paintings over the last few years, and Bowie was an unexpected and unfortunate one. The painting, however, ended up being one of my favorite portraits. When I heard about his death I immediately started researching images and got to work.

Bowie on easel.jpg
11"x14", acrylic + oil on canvas, sold

I found this black-and-white image because it isn't the most well known, and I flipped it just to make it a bit different. With the tributes, I became interested in painting a black-and-white picture and adding saturated color highlights, so I followed suit with this one. I started in the evening, worked through the night, and finished by noon the next day. Sometimes I'll binge paint when it's worth it. Yes, I know I'm a little crazy.

david reference.jpgsource

This is the only process photo I found (I was too busy painting) but this shows the pink, acrylic underpainting I used to give the black and white more interest. You can also see my struggle with the eyes here. I think part of my problem was the fact that I flipped the photo so it made his likeness off a little bit as is, but also because that's just part of the process. I make mistakes and I tweak them until I get them right, or as close as I can. You wouldn't believe how long I can spend on an eyeball. Patience is key.

Bowie in progress_wonky eye.jpg

Bowie at Vandivort.jpg
On display at Hotel Vandivort

final cropped_snelson_bowie.jpg
Final

What was your favorite role he played, song he sang, or favorite thing about Bowie in general?

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

Wondeful your art ..Really outstanding your painting .Carry on dear.

Great tribute piece, I like the blue and pink hues, the classical frame brings it out nicely as well.

I was similarly inspired to do a portrait of him, I hope you don't mind me sharing it here...

David Bowie Ziggy Stardust.jpg

Thanks! No, of course! What did you use to make this? I like it!

Thank you, I mixed the photo and acrylic paint (picture of) through photoshop🤓

This is wonderful. Been thinking about him a bit of late after watching the HBO Documentary on his last 5 years. That was a man with so much incredible talent! Thanks for sharing this painting of him. Excellence!!

He was for sure. I'll have to check that out! Thanks, Mike!

Ok, that's humbling. So very good Christie. ~Cheers

Nice work, also on the short and suit. When you do a under painting how much of the detail do you already put in there? Is it just the basic shapes or is it already a painting in itself?

I usually just get going and never really occurred to me to do an under painting first.

Thanks! I change it up about every time depending on the project and what I feel like. For something elaborate I would use a more detailed underpainting to make sure everything is in place before I'd start with oils. For this one, I just used the solid color. It changes the game for the second layer for sure. Fun stuff.

Ahh nice, thanks I'll give it a try when I have the chance paint again :)

Your portraits rock!

Thanks, Mom! Integrating them into my new series soon :D

wowwwww.... are your paintings usually exhibited in museums etc?i want to really visit your artwork someday when i'm in the states <3 they're amazing !

Thank you! I appreciate that. Hopefully that opportunity happens :) I'm in a couple of galleries but expanding more.

I love that you didn’t just do the black and white but included the pink, blue and green hues!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49