Paintings #9 - Land of the ice horse

in #painting6 years ago

Followers of my posts will no doubt know the effect my recent road trip has had on my creative output. I'd like to share another creation here for your enjoyment...

Anyone who has been to Iceland will probably be familiar with the Icelandic horse. Often mistaken for ponies because they are small (typically 13 or 14 hands high, similar to ponies), but they are as tough as the environment they survive in. Their bone structure, weight carrying abilities and toughness means that most people refer to them as horses. I have nothing but admiration for these beautiful animals, they truly belong in the land of fire and ice.

Iceland 1FB.jpg
Land of the ice horse, digital painting, 2018

This is a quick study from a series of photographs and sketches taken this year, and is the first of what I plan to be a limited edition set of prints (coming out later this year). This was painted entirely in photoshop using a wacom tablet and stylus.

Would love to know what you think!

Sort:  

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Lovely atmospheric work. Having been to Iceland and enthralled by the Icelandic horses it brings back fond memories.

Awesome, glad to have brought those memories back for you :)

Hi @adamfryda-art! Your artwork is awesome, I really like it! I thinking about buying a stylus too. Do you like working with it?

Yes, one you get used to it it's great. I got mine second hand off eBay about 8 years ago and still going strong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64