Paintings #15 - Where the heart rests and the mind wanders....

in #painting6 years ago

I want to write a short post about a place close to my home - The Beacon Country Park, near Wigan. As country parks go, I've been to larger ones (although it is 300 acres - not that small really)...

...It's not a place I automatically think of going, when choosing a day out. It's not even that secluded...we often pass dog walkers and others (as I secretly sigh for somewhere with fewer people)...I don't even stay more than an hour or two when I'm there...

...so it's really odd that much of my work returns to this place. And every time I visit I come away with fresh discoveries and new ideas. Every. Time.

Beacon trees STEEM.jpg

Three of my recent tree paintings inspired by the Beacon

I have been coming here for over twenty years (since I started courting the beautiful Mrs Fryda), and walking our herd of dogs. My daughters have pond dipped here, flown kites, built shelters out of logs and twigs and sledded down the snowy hills in winter. The place is thick with memories...

I thought I'd show a few photos, taken on my last visit, of the place that gives me so many painting ideas - a place I return to several times a year...

DSCF5226STEEM.jpg
The small wooded areas are magical...

DSCF5228STEEM.jpg
...and have some amazing old, established trees...

DSCF5259STEEM.jpg
...and some meadow habitats that fill with wildflowers,
such as this cow parsley...

DSCF5263STEEM.jpg

And there's plenty of wildlife to be found, including this humble bluebottle

DSCF5269STEEM.jpg
Ponds and streams attract dragonflies and frogs...

DSCF5275STEEM.jpg
A nursery-web spider protects her young in this
nursery web, on a thistle...

DSCF5278STEEM.jpg
I'm even finding things that remind me of fellow Steemians,
such as this tree enveloped by creepers. This instantly made me think of the
amazing artwork of Peter Gric, @gric...

Field small.jpg

Finally, my 2016 painting, partly inspired by watching my daughters chasing
grasshoppers for hours in the tall grass

Go and discover your local parks. Enjoy them. Visit them often, before they disappear. Sow your memories there and reap the rewards in years to come.

Find that place where your heart can rest and your mind can wander...

Sort:  

Hello @adamfryda-art, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you @creativecrypto, i really appreciate your support :)

♥♥ Really wonderful! ♥♥

Thank you @milo.mar, it really is!

it seems like I just can't escape spider webs( it was a key element in my last piece)
But this shot is definetly my favorite:

It seems like life itself. Complex material with many different layers mixed together. Various experiences and emotions forming a single magnificent structure.

I absolutely agree @fieryfootprints - life upon life...you've reminded me of one of my favourite Charles Darwin quotes... "It is interesting to contemplate an entangled bank, clothed with many plants of many kinds, with birds singing on the bushes, with various insects flitting about, and with worms crawling through the damp earth, and to reflect that these elaborately constructed forms, so different from each other, and dependent on each other in so complex a manner, have all been produced by laws acting around us..."

I love the main subject, as educated forestman and as photographer... and of course love this paintings. Great job!

Thank you @photovisions, it always means a lot when someone who knows and appreciates the subject likes my work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61