Morrissey Impressionist Art

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

Due to work, I am mostly restricted to the digital realm and don't get my hands dirty as often as I'd like to. The other day, I said screw that nonsense and decided to change things up a bit!

I pulled out my paints, brushes, a canvas I'd recently made from recycled paper and glazed with mod podge, a tattoo stencil, and a sketch of my favorite musical artist, Morrissey.

I outlined Moz onto the tattoo stencil and using a light spray of water on the canvas, carefully applied the stencil. My two-year-old daughter (who was super stoked to help), helped me color the background with pastels, and I painted over it with a pearlized glaze. Then I painted in the details of the subject with my acrylics... snapped a photo, sent it to Adobe Illustrator, added some lyrical text and minor effects, and voila! Handmade from start to finish!

My Original Painting:

Morrissey-Painting.png

My Digitally Affected Painting:

Morrissey-Impression.png

The lyric goes, "I don't mind if you forget me. Having learned my lesson, I never left an impression on anyone."

I'm enjoying this painting business.

I think I'm going to work on one of Iggy Pop next. Maybe a mural this time?

Sort:  

She's back!!! I was happy to see you back on, and this painting is wonderful! Great work. I've been far less active as well. Been very busy. Hope all is well my friend

Thank you! Yes, I'm back! I was happy to see you were still active as well :) Things are good, finally taking time to be creative again. You seem to be having a good time, putting on shows, that's awesome! Did that already happen, still happening? Hope all is well with you, amigo.

Our first event will be this friday! I'm very excited, and will surely blog about it and try to record it in some capacity. I've been pretty distant, but I'm trying to make time for this when I can. I'll stay in touch my friend :)

Well, good luck! I hope all goes really well, and I look forward to hearing about all of the juicy details. Cheers! Break a leg and whatnot :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63122.79
ETH 3119.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86